I Throw Like a Girl

How to keep your eye liner from smearing

Posted by Carol on January 30, 2008

Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer is hosting  a Greatest Hits Edition of Works for me Wednesday.  This is my entry because this has been my most popular post so far.

My helpful hint this week is a makeup trick that lets you  never have those dark raccoon circles under your eyes from your eyeliner smearing as the day goes on.  The reason your eyeliner smears is that it is made with wax.  Your body heat causes the wax to slowly melt, giving you those unsightly dark circles under your eyes.  Here’s what you need to do to avoid all that:  

Get yourself an angled makeup brush and a dark color eyeshadow, such as brown.  Or just go with a color that you would normally choose in an eyeliner pencil.  Then use the angled brush to apply the eyeshadow along your lash line, just like you would with your eyeliner pencil. The brush I use is small with flat bristles and is kind of stiff.  I promise, it will not smear – unless, of course you rub your eyes.  It is also easier to wash off at the end of the day.  Here is a picture of some brushes that would work well.

Give it a try.  I think you’ll be happy with the results. 

 

 

8 Responses to “How to keep your eye liner from smearing”

  1. PJ said

    I’ll have to give it a try. I’ve given up wearing eyeliner because of the “racoon eye” effect!

  2. Nicole said

    I’ll be giving this a try. Thanks!

  3. Linda C said

    Carol–seriously–this is seriously good news for me. I need to try this. I have perpetua mascara problems, exascerbated by allergic shiners. It’s awful. I’m the concealer queen. So I should try this. I hate to be so stupid, but what do you mean by an angled brush? I’m picturing a fan shape that slopes one way?

  4. [...] StatsIt seems that those of you who read my blog are extremely interested in keeping your eyeliner from smearing, and anything Max Lucado has to say.  Sweet!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~And as Forrest Gump liked to [...]

  5. [...] to Comments According to my blog stats, many of you out there in Blogsville are very interested in how to keep your eyeliner from smearing.  So along those same lines, I thought you might appreciate a Works For Me Wednesday post about [...]

  6. [...] any of you are reading this post because you found my blog by searching for a way to keep your eye-liner from smearing (my most popular post by far – seriously), perhaps you need more than make-up tips today.  [...]

  7. [...] circles. Apparently, it is a world-wide epidemic. My Works for Me Wednesday post from Jan. 30th on how to keep your eyeliner from smearing has gotten almost 10% of my total page views. That’s a lot of smeary eyeliner that needs to [...]

  8. Hey cool!

    I do that too – I had a session with a make-up artist last year and she taught me this trick.

    It also lasts longer than eyeliner :)

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

