I Throw Like a Girl

Hugs from Jesus – Part 2

Posted by Carol on October 11, 2007

Psalm 147:3 “He heals the broken-hearted, and binds up their wounds”.

This summer was not the greatest summer for me for several reasons.

The first is that our son graduated from high school at the end of June and was getting ready to go off to college over 1000 miles away from home. His graduation was something that I selfishly had not been looking forward to. Even mentioning it at all anytime last year was enough to make me cry (probably anytime since he was in 9th grade to be honest). I tried to be strong and not let him see me upset. I didn’t want to ruin what is supposed to be a happy milestone in his life. But, unfortunately, he is such a wonderful person and I enjoy having him around so much that the thought of him going off to college made me feel a great loss. At the risk of sounding overly dramatic, I felt like someone was dying. We did have a big party for him and lots of friends and relatives came to celebrate with him and his two best friends who also graduated, so not to worry, Mom was able to suck it up and be happy for him!

The next event that made my summer less than stellar was that I broke my wrist early in July. It was one of my “I Love Lucy” moments when my own klutzy-ness did me in. To make a long story short, I fell off a bike that wasn’t even moving while sitting on it in the bike shop. Go ahead and laugh, all my friends did! I got a cool purple cast on my left arm and tried to make the best of it. Yet, having a cast on any time is a bummer, but over 6 weeks of a beautiful summer is just not fair!

Two weeks later, we went on a week-long vacation to Lake George, NY. We went with two other families. The guys were two of my husband’s biking buddies. Lots of boating, swimming, water skiing, and other water activities were planned. Since I had a cast on, that really limited my options on this vacation.

The icing on the cake was the fact that our son, who was going to be leaving for college in just one week after we got back from the lake, could not come with us on our trip because of a class he was taking over the summer. My heart was just not in this vacation and I was quietly counting the days until we would be going home. On Tuesday of that week, our son called to tell me that my good friend Cindy was trying to reach me and that I needed to call her. She had said something to my son about coming up to Lake George with my other good friend, Julie, but he wasn’t exactly sure. I quickly called Cindy back and sure enough, she and Julie were planning on coming up to Lake George for a couple of days with their daughters. Cindy’s son was at a soccer camp nearby and she was coming up to watch him in his final tournament and then take him home. Julie was coming along just because she could. They wanted to meet me for dinner on Wednesday evening and were hoping I wouldn’t mind taking a little time away from our vacation to see them.

Jesus knew my heart was heavy with my son not there on vacation with us and the fact that he would be leaving home soon. He knew I needed some good friends to cheer me up and remind me that I am loved. Seeing those two get out of the car to meet me for dinner felt like two great big hugs from Jesus. When I told them how I felt, Cindy said, “Well now you can get a hug from us, too!”

I know there are much worse things in life than broken wrists, vacations to Lake George with no swimming allowed, and sons going off to college. I know there are greater burdens in life, but sometimes it is the little things, the “stubbed toes” and “paper cuts” (as one of my friends puts it) of life that get us bogged down. We need to open our spiritual eyes and see the hugs that Jesus sends to us along the way.
1Peter 5:7 says “casting all your cares onto Him, for He cares for you”. That means the little cares as well as the big ones. That experience this summer reminded me of a habit I had when my kids were little, but I have not done in a long time. I used to have a “grateful journal” that I would write in every night before I went to bed. I would write at least five things that I was grateful for that day. Sometimes they were big things, but most of the time, they were little things. When we keep our eyes open for the things we are thankful for during the day, we are actually counting our hugs from Jesus. We just need to try to be a little more aware of them. I think I’ll pick up that “grateful journal” again and begin where I left off.

One Response to “Hugs from Jesus – Part 2”

  1. […] thought back to this past summer when God sent some friends to cheer me up and comfort me just when I needed it. I told Him how sad, and frustrated, and tired I […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
