I Throw Like a Girl

Hugs from Jesus

Posted by Carol on October 11, 2007

Tonight is our monthly women’s ministry team meeting and it’s my turn to lead devotions at the beginning of the meeting. As I was thinking and praying about what God would want me to share with the group, He reminded me of a time this summer when I especially felt His love and care for me. He sent me some “hugs” in the form of two of my closest friends.I will share the devotion with you in my next post because, first, I want to tell you how my day has gone so far! My husband had already left for work when I woke up at 6:00 am to a dark rainy day – the kind of day that makes you want to pull the covers up over your head and sleep in. But it’s not Saturday, it’s Thursday. Thursdays are especially busy mornings at my house. Not only does my daughter have to leave for school by 7:00, but I have a 7:00 meeting to attend which means I have to leave at 6:45. As I groggily made my way downstairs to let our 7 month old puppy, Kobi, out of his crate to go outside to do his “business”, I discovered that the poor pup had been sick in the night and he and his crate were quite a mess. I will spare you the details! Believe me, you don’t want to know! I put him and our older dog, Sadie, outside, and ran upstairs to wake my daughter. Guess who else said she felt sick. Remember, I had to leave at 6:45 for a meeting of a business group I am in. Attendance is almost mandatory, however, at this point I was seriously debating being a “no show”. My sweet 15 year old daughter assured me she could take care of herself, so I thankfully (not sure that’s the right word!) went back downstairs to deal with the puppy and his mess. After I got everyone, including myself, all cleaned up, I ran back upstairs, threw my clothes on, brushed my teeth, slapped some make-up on, ran a brush through my hair, applied some hairspray (so as not to lose my “lovely” hairstyle in the rain) and got to my meeting on time! Whew! I could really use a hug! Don’t you just love the way God reminds us of our need for Him in the middle of our crazy days (and mornings)!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
