I Throw Like a Girl

Two Truths and a Lie

Posted by Carol on October 19, 2007

Psalm 46:10 “Be still, and know that I am God!”

Maybe some of you have played this ice-breaker game. You go around the room and everyone shares two things that are true about themselves and one thing that is a lie. Everyone else has to guess which is which. The idea is to be so convincing that all three things are true, that you stump the crowd.

I have played this game several times and it can get hilarious! I never win because whenever I have to tell the “lie” about myself, I burst out laughing. One time my lie was that I went to college with Shania Twain, but I could not keep a straight face for anything! Oh well, I still love trying to guess everyone else’s lies.

There is someone else who tries to fool us with his lies and he is an expert at it. Another name for him is actually “father of lies”. Satan sticks just enough truth in the story that we swallow the whole thing, hook, line and sinker. And just like a fish who has been fooled by the bait, believing the truth-stuffed lie can, at worst, cause death and destruction in our lives, and, at best, keep us in bondage and away from the freedom in Christ that He paid so dearly for us to have.

I have believed some of the lies Satan has held in front of me disguised as truth. Most of them have to do with worry about my children and their future. Having a child go off to college for the first time gives the deceiver plenty of opportunity to play with a mom’s heart and head. What if he leaves his faith? What if he chooses the wrong friends? What if he decides to try drugs or alcohol? What if he fails because I have not prepared him well enough? What if I’m just not a good enough mom or Christian for that matter? And once you get to the point of questioning who you are in Christ, game over, Satan has won that round.

The truth of the matter is that some of these fears are real possibilities. The lie is that I have control over this stuff anyway.

Once I caught on to the lies that I had been believing for years, the scales fell away from my eyes (why do I have a fish theme going on?) and I have enjoyed a freedom in Christ that had been lacking. Not that I don’t slip back into my old ways now and then, but now I know whose ideas I am listening to and Who I need to turn to for the truth.

Gal 5:1 “It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery.”When I believe Satan’s lies, I am picking up my yoke of slavery and putting it back on my neck. I have experienced freedom by letting God be in control of my life and acknowledging that He is in control of my children’s lives.

The TRUTH is: My son is a young adult. He is a Christian who desires to walk with God. He is God’s child and He loves my son so much more than I do. I have done all I know to do to be the best mom possible for him. I pray for him everyday. Now my job is found in Psalm 46:10. I need to “be still and KNOW beyond a shadow of a doubt (my words) that He is God!”

That verse was explained to me once this way, “To ‘be still’ means to rest, recline, and relax in the arms of the almighty Creator of the universe”.

Wow! I think He can take care of things without my help!

Blessings,
Carol

 

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
