I Throw Like a Girl

"When I Lay My Isaac Down"

Posted by Carol on October 26, 2007

In elementary school, I hated book reports. I loved to read, but I did not like the teachers making me stand up in front of the class and share my personal feelings and opinions of the book. For a shy kid, it was torture. But those teachers must have done something right by me in the reading department, because I went on to become an English major in college. I hesitate to admit that because now you will expect perfect grammar in my blog. Just remember – false expectations lead to bitterness! 🙂

I still love to read and now I do enjoy sharing a great book with anyone who will listen. I have even been known to read out loud to my family if there is one I want them to read, but I know they won’t read it on their own. I think they secretly like it, but still roll their eyes for my benefit.

Two of my very good friends recently read a book and had been encouraging me to read it, too. At first I didn’t want to because I was afraid it would be too painful. But I did eventually read it and “When I Lay My Isaac Down” by Carol Kent is a book I just have to share. It deals with a tragic event involving the Kent’s only son who is also their only child. I would call very few books I have read besides the Bible “life changing”, but this book will definately change your view of the challenges that come into your life.

Without giving anything away, I will share just a little from the inside cover to give you a better idea of what the book is about,“Sometimes we make sacrifices to help us get ahead, to allow us more time with family, or because we believe in the cause. And then there are sacrifices in which we have no say –“Isaac experiences” as in Genesis 22 –thrust upon us without warning or survival instructions. This book outlines eight transformational power principles that Gene and Carol Kent learned in the process of facing news that forever changed their lives…..Carol’s candid retelling of her emotional and spiritual agony will touch your heart. The principles the Kents learned in the process of surviving such unspeakable circumstances will boster your faith, renew your hope, and challenge you to new levels of personal and spiritual commitment.”

I got this book from the library, but if it were mine to keep I would have highlighted every time Carol Kent used the word “choose” or “chose” or “choice”. She and her husband Gene chose to use a tremendous family tragedy for God’s glory. And by God’s grace we have the free will to choose how we handle the challenges that come into our lives as well.

I think everyone on my Christmas list will be getting “When I Lay My Isaac Down” in their stocking this year. That’s how important I think the lessons in this book are.

Blessings,

Carol

2 Responses to “"When I Lay My Isaac Down"”

  1. Anonymous said

    Hi – I am reading this book as a request from my wife. It is a powerful experience that could happen but for most of us I hope it will never happen. I am amazed at how Carol Kent shares her true inner most feelings which makes me like the book even more. She has anger, frustration, felt alone and “where was God” in all this, why didn’t He prevent this from happening and why does she feel he is not there. We all face these type of questions in our lives at times and as I am right now – mine has lasted for some time due to 2 life changing events in my families lives. I hope God wil use this book to help me “wake up” and get back on track.

  2. Alana said

    I have quoted this book several times on my blog. My husband and I lost our two beautiful daughters four years ago. This book has been helpful in my healing process. Thank you for having the courage to read it and write about it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
