I Throw Like a Girl

Torn Between Two Topics

Posted by Carol on November 5, 2007

Confession time – I am really torn over what to post today. I had intended that since Thanksgiving is in November that I stick with a “thankful” theme and maybe post my entries from my Gratitude Journal – both current and old entries from when I journalled many years ago back in the dark ages when my kids were little.

However, I just “met” someone from the Bible and I can’t get her off my mind. I want to write about her, but I need to study and think and pray more about her and what exactly God is saying to me through her story, but I will introduce you to her. You may already know her better than I do. Her name is Abigail.

Let me tell you how I met her. It was November 2. The reason I know this is because sometimes in my devotions I will read “the Proverb of the day” meaning that I will read a chapter from Proverbs for whatever day of the month it is. Since Proverbs has 31 chapters, it works out very nicely. I think God actually planned it that way. 🙂 Therefore, I was reading from Proverbs chapter 2.

Proverbs 2 is all about wisdom and how important it is. There is a footnote in my Bible that lists “People called ‘wise’ in the Bible”. When I looked down the list, there were the usual suspects: Solomon, of course. Joseph, Moses, Daniel, Joshua, Paul, etc. But then there was Abigail. Now I just thought that Abigail was one of David’s wives. Big deal, end of story. What caught my attention about her was the reason the footnote gave for her being included in the list, “She managed her household well in spite of a surly and mean husband.” But wasn’t David her husband? He was not mean or surly. So I looked her up in I Samuel 25 and found that David was actually her second husband. How she became David’s wife is a big deal and a great story. But her first husband was a guy named Nabal.

Here’s what I Samuel 25:3 says about the couple, “His name was Nabal and his wife’s name was Abigail. She was an intelligent and beautiful woman, but her husband, a Calebite, was surly and mean in his dealings.” The story then goes on to tell about Abigail’s wisdom, humility, and bravery that saved her household from the impending destruction that Nabal’s arrogance and rudeness had provoked.

I think there is a message in Abigail’s story for women who, at times, are less than thrilled with their husbands. Being in women’s ministry, I often hear stories of women who are dealing with husbands who can be mean and surly. And wives who are mean and surly. Heck, I can be mean and surly (I know that’s a big shocker)! So I want to study Abigail and her story and use her wisdom to encourage others who are not in the marriage they had hoped for when they stood before God and promised, “til death do us part”.

But for most of the rest of November, I think my “Grateful Journal” will have to do.

Hugs,
Carol

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
