I Throw Like a Girl

Happy Belated Thanksgiving (or A Very Doggy Thanksgiving)

Posted by Carol on November 24, 2007

I almost called this post “Gravy Boats and Gratitude” but between that and the title of my last post, I figured it would have been enough alliteration to make even Dr. Seuss gag! It is still Thanksgiving weekend, so I don’t feel that it’s too late to wish anyone who might be reading this a Happy Thanksgiving.

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  My husband’s sister, her husband, and one of their adult daughters (along with her new boyfriend) were here for a total of eight.  We had the usual turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, broccoli casserole, stuffing, cranberry sauce, rolls, pumpkin pie, and apple pie.  Of course, there was lots of football watching and card games being played. Oh, I almost forgot, it was BYOD (bring your own dog) – so in addition to our two, Sadie & Kobi, we had Foxy, a beautiful blonde yellow lab, and Justice, a handsome Rhodesian ridge-back mix. It made for a lot of entertainment as Kobi the shih-tzu played “tag” with the big dogs most of the weekend. In a sterotypical dog maneuver, one of the dogs, who shall remain nameless, (although, the shih-tzu is cleared from  suspicion for obvious reasons) stole the Thanksgiving turkey right off the counter.  Thankfully, it was after dinner, not before.

I have much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving weekend and every weekend for that matter.  My husband, my two children, my home, and friends are all on the short list. My whole list would be very long, which in itself is something to be thankful for!

I’d be curious to hear what you did for Thanksgiving and some of the things you are thankful for this year, so feel free to  leave a comment and let me know!

“Give thanks to Him and praise His name.” Psalm 100:4

Blessings,

Carol

2 Responses to “Happy Belated Thanksgiving (or A Very Doggy Thanksgiving)”

  1. 4urpets said

    Our Thanksgiving was wonderful. Among the usual things to be thankful for(health, family and love), I can honestly say that I am thankful that no one at my Thanksgiving table was allergic to dogs. My three Chihuahuas were able to roam the house freely and mingle with friends and family. Having the dogs out from their usual banishment made it a friendlier atmosphere, and the children really enjoyed playing with them.

  2. Idetrorce said

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
