I Throw Like a Girl

Who Loves Ya Baby?

Posted by Carol on December 10, 2007

“As a bridegroom rejoices over his bride, so will your God rejoice over you.” Isaiah 62:5b

All of us have been to at least one wedding in our lives – if not our own, then a friend’s or relative’s.  I’ve been to at least ten weddings and the person I most look forward to seeing is the bride as she starts walking down the aisle – to see the dress, her hair, her bouquet, how happy or nervous she looks. 

But after I am done noticing all those extremely important elements of the wedding (and taking note of whether or not the bridesmaids will ever be able to wear those dresses again), my attention quickly turns to the bridegroom.  I love watching him watch her coming toward him on her father’s arm.  At that moment, no one else matters in the world to him.  She is the reason he is there.  She is the reason for all the preparation and planning and she makes it worth all the hours he has to spend in that tuxedo. 

Isaiah compares the love that groom feels for his bride at that moment to the love our Heavenly Father has for us every moment. 

The Message says it this way, “And as a bridegroom is happy in his bride, so your God is happy with you.”

I’m sure there are days that you don’t feel exactly “rejoiced over” by the people around you – your family, your co-workers, or friends.  If you have teenagers, you know they are not always happy with you and they are not so subtle about letting you know it.  If you are married, there may even be days that your bridegroom is not rejoicing as much as he used to.

But your bridegroom, Jesus, loves you, rejoices in you, and is happy with you beyond comprehension.  He has loved you with an everlasting love and nothing can separate you from the love of Christ.

A few years ago my friend, Julie, gave me a small silk flower bouquet and attached a tag with Isaiah 62:5b written on it.  I still have it and I keep it next to the mirror in my room so I can see it every morning when I get ready for my day.  It is a reminder that even if it feels like no one else in the world loves me, my heavenly Bridegroom, who loves me so much that He died for me so that I could be in heaven with Him for all eternity – is rejoicing over me and is happy with me. And He rejoices over you, too.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
