I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW – Help w/ Water Spots on Glass Shower Doors

Posted by Carol on January 10, 2008

Rocks in My Dryer is having a backwards day at Works For Me Wednesday.  We get to ask a question and hopefully really smart folks will come along with an answer, so here is my earth shattering question:  We have glass shower doors and even though I try to wipe or squeegee the doors after showering, the spots are still showing up (probably not everyone is squeegee-ing)!  I have tried vinegar, and lots of cleaning products, but if anyone has a really effective tip on removing those water spots for good I would be eternally grateful!!!!

Edited to add:  I think I found the solution.  Read about it at this post

5 Responses to “WFMW – Help w/ Water Spots on Glass Shower Doors”

  1. Lindsie said

    Oh, I was hoping someone had commented because I’m having similar problems. Sorry i’m not help to you…

  2. Beth_C said

    I have had good luck using a Magic Eraser. I just spray the shower cleaner on the door and scrub it down with the Magic Eraser…it seems to get a lot of the spots.

    A friend of mine has also told me that if you use Rain-X on doors that are clean and spot free they will remain that way!

    Hope this helps!

  3. heidit76 said

    I have used the magic eraser also. I don’t have a lot of build up to remove though.

    To maintain it, I spray it down after EVERY shower with “Method shower spray” from Target. Love it!

  4. miriam said

    I use bleach. It’s not particularly pleasant, but I glove up and spray it on, then squeegee it off. And definitely enforce the after-shower drying, or you’ll be back to square one in a very short time.

    If you have more minerals in your water and there are whitish crusty build-ups growing around the spots, you might need something like LimeAWay.

    Neither of these suggestions are very fun to clean with, but they do work. And in case anyone gives you a hard time, bleach is NOT bad for your family or the water supply; the active ingredients will evaporate.

    In our next house if we get to choose, I will nix the glass doors altogether, unless they have some kind of texture or something to hide some of the spots.

  5. Lisa said

    I use bar keepers friend. It’s great!! You could get it at Walmart or Target or King Kullen. They also have a website barkeepersfriend.com I’ve tried lots of solutions.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
