I Throw Like a Girl

She’s Got Game

Posted by Carol on January 13, 2008

Tonight was my sister’s 40th birthday party. Right now she is wearing an “Over the Hill” tiara, a flower lei, a flashing button that says “Kiss Me, It’s My Birthday”, and a great big smile on her face from being surrounded by friends and family. My sister is loved by many people. She is a kind, fun, thoughtful, wonderful, special person. You might remember her from this story.

But if she is, in fact, “over the hill” then I must have one foot in the grave because she is my younger sister. By three whole years. However, she did just get her first pair of prescription glasses, while my eye doctor says I still don’t need any, but who’s keeping score?

My brother-in-law planned the party and every single person who was invited came. The only ones that didn’t show called today to bow out because they were sick. The theme of the party was “She’s Got Game” and it was a night filled with competition. We were put into teams made up of one guy and one girl and we couldn’t be paired with our spouse – a rule that probably saved several marriages. We played rounds of pool, air hockey, ping pong, foosball, darts, and Wii bowling. My partner and I lost every single round except for the Wii bowling. Probably because, well, I Throw Like a Girl.

My husband and his partner, who happened to be the Birthday Girl, came in third overall. My bro-in-law’s team came in second, and another team won first place which was the only reason the crowd did not mutiny and accuse us of having the whole thing rigged. The prizes were first, second, and third place medallions and Wawa gift cards.

If you don’t know what Wawa is, you’re not from the Northeast. The first person to comment with what a Wawa is will get extra credit. 🙂 And if you wish my sister a Happy Birthday, I will forward the message on to her and it will make a great day even better!

Happy Birthday, Little Sis!

~Carol

9 Responses to “She’s Got Game”

  1. Linda C said

    Oh, happy birthday dear sister of the girlish thrower! I’m so glad to actually get caught up here. This is a GREAT idea for parties. We celebrate my girlfriends’ 50th birthdays with red hats and boas, etc. And cake, always cake.

  2. Little Sis said

    Thank you Linda for the birthday wishes…we had a great time at the party which I could not have pulled off without the help of my big sis…she was a great help…and to prove that she does “Throw Like A Girl”…my team came in 3rd with a 5 wins/1 lose record to her…1 W/ 5 L record. I guess I got the athletic genes in the family…sorry sis.

  3. Linda C said

    Carol, as soon as I left my comment here I fixed it. Now I’m all set.

  4. Sounds like such a fun time! Wah Wah??? I have no clue~
    Happy Birthday to your sis!!!
    Blessings~

  5. Husband of Little Sis said

    J. knows 3 things

    1. A “WaWa” is a gas station/convenience store with righteous day old corn dogs.

    2. Next to Ree at Pioneer Woman and Rechelle at Country Doctor, you are my favorite blogger. You really put me in touch with my feminine side.

    3. Jimmy rocks out loud!

  6. Dana said

    Happy bday to your sister! Wa Wa is freaky!
    Enjoying your blog tremendously!
    Love, Dana

  7. […] About She’s Got Game […]

  8. […] responses, but still my quest for spotless doors was not satisfied.  Until…..I went to my very popular little sister’s 40th birthday party and noticed that she had beautifully sparkling glass shower […]

  9. […] day, Little Sis and I were talking on the phone. I wanted to see if she had received her belated birthday gift. She had.  She told me that she had been reading my blog the other day, and her son, my nephew […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
