I Throw Like a Girl

Max Lucado on “Self-Control”

Posted by Carol on February 5, 2008

Well, kids, we are on our last fruit of the Spirit as told by Max Lucado.  He’s done a great job, I must say.  Self-control is something we try to teach our children, yet seem to struggle with ourselves or, maybe it’s just me.  I think God added “self-control” to the list of spiritual fruit because He knew all about PMS. If only I remembered this handy fruit before I opened my mouth many days, life would be less complicated!

 “I Choose Self-Control…

I am a spiritual being…

After this body is dead,  my spirit will soar.

I refuse to let what will rot, rule the eternal.

I choose self-control.  I will be drunk only by joy.

I will be impassioned only by my faith.

I will be influenced only by God.

I will be taught only by Christ.

I choose self-control.” 

 

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” Galatians 5:22-23

I have a friend who taught her kids to recite the Fruit of the Spirit when they are angry rather than counting to 10.  What a good idea!

Blessings,

Carol

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
