I Throw Like a Girl

I MUST learn to be more aware of my surroundings….

Posted by Carol on February 10, 2008

Last night Dear Husband and I went out to dinner with some friends from out of town who were visiting NYC for a few days. 

The way our booth was positioned, we were sitting in a semi-circle. DH could see all the people coming into the restaurant as they were being seated. I had a view of the windows as did my friend. Her husband could only see the backs of the people as they walked by our table to be seated.

About 3/4 of the way through the evening, a group of about 5 people walked past our table.  I barely noticed them since we were having such a good time laughing and talking with our friends. 

Just as the group passed our table, DH said, “Was that Jennifer Aniston that just walked by?”

We all looked quickly, but all I could see were 3 women with long blonde hair with a guy in front of them and the waiter behind them. 

DH said “The first guy was definitely security.  I’m sure that was Jennifer Aniston.”

I truly did need to use the restroom, so my friend and I excused ourselves from the table and on the way to the restroom, we just happened to walk by the private room where this group had been seated.  Wouldn’t you know that “Jennifer” had been seated with her back to the door and all we could see were her “friends”? (sorry, I had to say it!)

During the ride home, I told DH that it would have been nice if he could have said something about 10 seconds sooner so the rest of us could have seen if it really was Jennifer or not. He apologised, but said he was so stunned to possibly be seeing Jennifer Aniston that he couldn’t talk for a few seconds.  🙂

I can’t blame the guy, but he should be kind of used to seeing famous people by now.  He has seen Dick Van Dyke, Gene Shalit, Nicole Kidman, Harrison Ford & Calista Flockhart, Garth Brooks, Kelly Ripa & her family, John Travolta with one of his kids, Oprah Winfrey (I was there for that one and missed it, too) and a few professional sports guys at airports, movie theaters, restaurants, and hotels over the past few years. 

I have not been with him for most of these sightings, but for the few I have been present, I always miss it.  Always.

Oh well, I’ll settle for seeing Lysa TerKeurst, Big Mama, Boo Mama, Shannon, Marybeth Whalen, and some of my other  blogger friends IF I get to attend the She Speaks conference in June. 

Still hoping and praying to attend the conference,

Carol

One Response to “I MUST learn to be more aware of my surroundings….”

  1. NancyB said

    I would so love to meet Big Mama, Boo Mama and Rocks….don’t know them personally but I’m a regular lurker on their sites. Hope you get to go to the conference.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
