I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ My Family’s Favorite Chili

Posted by Carol on February 16, 2008

I was going to call this “Best Ever Chili” but then I realized I really can’t call it that because I haven’t tasted all the chili in the world and to declare mine the “best ever” would be quite arrogant.

And it hasn’t even been entered into a chili cook-off, therefore, it hasn’t been tasted by those with refined chili palates. Calling it “Best Ever” might offend some more experienced chili recipes out there who have been taste-tested.

But my chili has been tasted and tested by the people most important to ME. My family. And they love it which gives me the honor of declaring this recipe:

My Family’s Favorite Chili

1 pound ground beef (I buy the leanest I can find; you can even use ground turkey)

1 cup chopped onion

2 cloves garlic – crushed

4 tsp. chili powder

2 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. salt (or to taste)

1/2 tsp. pepper

2 large (28-32 oz) cans crushed tomatoes with puree (I prefer the Red Pack brand, but you can use what you like best)

1 can (15 oz) undrained black beans

Brown onion, garlic, and ground beef in 4 quart Dutch oven.  Stir in remaining ingredients, heat until bubbly, reduce heat, cover and simmer 1 hour, stirring occasionally.  Serve with shredded cheese and chopped onion on top if you like.

Head on over to Saturday Stirrings with DeeDee at  It Coulda Been Worse and find more great recipes.  Feel free to add one of your own!

Enjoy! Carol

3 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ My Family’s Favorite Chili”

  1. Farrah said

    Sounds delish!! Thanks for sharing! Perfect timing, too. We just got more snow dumped on us. It’s definitely chili weather. Har har! Get it? Chilly (chili) weather!? Hee-hee!

  2. Here was my recipe for chili before today:

    Buy a can of Hormel’s
    Open it up
    Heat it
    Eat.

    But, no more.

  3. Well, I think it sounds like the best chili ever!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
