I Throw Like a Girl

Potpourri For $200, Alex

Posted by Carol on February 21, 2008

There are lots of things going on in my head to write about, but none worthy (or long enough) to merit its own post.  So this one is a little bit of this and a little bit of that.  But, not to worry, you don’t have to comment in the form of a question!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Nephew is a Genius

The other day, Little Sis and I were talking on the phone. I wanted to see if she had received her belated birthday gift. She had. 

She told me that she had been reading my blog, and her son, my nephew, came up behind her and asked, “What’s that?”

“That’s Aunt Carol’s blog. It’s called ‘I Throw Like a Girl'”.

“Cool, but why wouldn’t she throw like a girl?”

My point exactly.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m Just Not Feelin’ Ya, Dawg!

I don’t know what it is, but I am having trouble getting into American Idol this season.  I have to admit, I haven’t put much effort into it. I forgot it was on Monday night, and I only caught parts of it last night.  I need to try harder.  One must have their priorities in order.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

February is For-ev-er!

Even though, technically, it is the shortest month, February feels like the looooooooongest month.  I especially noticed this while I was in college.  We would get back to campus from winter break by mid January, then when February hit, it seemed never ending – then time would speed up again when March came. It still feels that way to me.  By this time of year, I am sick of winter and so ready for spring.  There’s hope in sight even though it is 17 degrees here today.  I noticed that the little green tops of my daffodils are starting to peak through the dirt! Yippeee!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mac vs. Not Mac

Our family computer is a Mac. It’s fairly new to us.  It is the one Dear Daughter uses to check her email and do her homework.  I also use it for our on-line banking, looking around the internet, emailing, etc.  But, I have found one peculiar thing about it.  If I use it to write my blog, it takes all my paragraphs and spacing away.   Why is that? 

Dear Husband got me a laptop for Valentine’s Day.  (Thank you, again, Sweetie!)  It is not a Mac.  I guess that would make it a PC?  That’s how tech savvy I am not.  I have no trouble with my paragraphs on the laptop.  Sorry, it doesn’t seem to have any effect on my wordiness, though.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

She Speaks Conference

I am still praying that God would open the door for me to attend this conference in June.  Right now I am preparing a morning devotional for our women’s church retreat coming up in a few weeks, and boy, do I feel inadequate.  I may have some news to report about this soon.  Stay tuned….

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Blog Stats

It seems that those of you who read my blog are extremely interested in keeping your eyeliner from smearing, and anything by Max Lucado.  Sweet!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

And as Forrest Gump liked to say, “That’s all I have to say about that.”

Blessings, Carol

3 Responses to “Potpourri For $200, Alex”

  1. Linda said

    I thought catsup came from the east. Guess not.

    About AI, like I said, I’m not into the girls at all, which is not usually how I get engaged. I usually always prefer the girls except for this year.

    Aren’t you worried that your premie daffodils will die?

    About the Valentine’s Day gift-woo-hoo! Your man loves you.

    She Speaks–I still haven’t decided. I have to decide before the rate goes up, though. You’ve got me curious about the news you may have. Keep me posted.

  2. Mother of Genius Nephew said

    No wonder son wants to live near his Aunt. Although his reasoning is because he wants to be near his cousin…who is now living in Colorado..so maybe we are still working on the genius part.

  3. Kelsey said

    Well thanks for the first comment! I must say, reading your blog over mom’s shoulder was part inspiration for wanting to make one of my own…

    Hopefully I’ll have more interesting things to write about. Like my genius brother. Or an opportunity like the conference you talk about. It seems like a great experience. I’ll be praying for you, and hoping you get some good news.

    :]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
