I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Chocolate Cream Cheese Squares

Posted by Carol on February 23, 2008

DeeDee at It Coulda Been Worse is hosting Saturday Stirrings with Friends.  I asked my daughter which recipe I should post this week and she picked this one.  It is a very good choice.  As a matter of fact, if we didn’t have 6 inches of new snow on the ground (and roads), I would have gone out to the store to buy the ingredients to make these because it’s been too long.  But with all those Thin Mints that I ordered from my niece on their way here, it’s a good thing it snowed.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Squares

1 (18.25 oz) package Swiss chocolate cake mix

1/2 cup butter or margarine, melted

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1 cup chopped peacans

1 (8 oz) package cream cheese, softened

2 large eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 (16 oz) package powdered sugar

-combine cake mix, butter, and beaten egg in a medium bowl. Stir in peacans.  Press mixture into a lightly greased 13×9 inch pan.

-beat cream cheese, 2 eggs, and vanilla at medium speed with an electric mixer until blended; gradually add powdered sugar, beating 2 minutes or until smooth. Spoon cream cheese mixture over cake mix mixture, spreading to edges.

-bake at 325 degrees for 45 minutes or until lightly browned.  Cool completely in pan on a wire rack; cut into squares. Makes 3 dozen.

(Cake Mix Miracles by Oxmoor House)

I usually make these without the peacans because my kids don’t like nuts.

Enjoy,

Carol

7 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Chocolate Cream Cheese Squares”

  1. Heather said

    Mmmm…chocolate…cream cheese… (wiping drool from keyboard).

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Barbara H. said

    This sounds really good!

  3. jubilee said

    Sounds yummy. I may have to break my diet to try this recipe!

  4. You know, I use to eat raw chocolate cake mix. For dinner. This is a recipe you just know I will like!

  5. Kim said

    I’m in a sugar coma just from reading the recipe.

  6. I’ve made these and they are rich, Baby! I’ve also seen them for sale at the grocery for $1.25 a square!
    Yummmmmmm

  7. Burger Mom said

    These sound amazing, and I think the ingredients are all in my pantry if I can use a regular chocolate cake mix. I’ve actually never heard of Swiss chocolate cake mix.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
