I Throw Like a Girl

Heart Spa

Posted by Carol on February 29, 2008

I won’t be posting this weekend because I will be away at a “Spa”.  I am going with 73 of my closest friends to a beautiful Christian conference center on the Chesapeake Bay of Maryland for our church’s annual women’s retreat. 

The name of the retreat program is “Heart Spa – Where Women are Refreshed in Jesus”.  It is a program put out by Group Publishers.  They also do a lot of Vacation Bible School programs.  This is a retreat where you don’t have to bring in an outside speaker.  The women of your church do the presenting and run the different parts – facials, manicures, pedicures, crafts, skits, music, and main sessions.  It has been a lot of work for the committee to put this together, organize the supplies, and work out all the logistics with the conference center.  But it will be so worth it once all the women arrive and hopefully get to rest, refresh, relax, renew friendships, and learn from God’s word.

I have been on the Women’s Ministry committee at my church for the past 7 years. I have loved every minute of it – well amost every minute.  I have been blessed to work with a team of 8 women who love Jesus, love the women of our church, and love each other.  They have become my acountability group and some of my best friends.  We have seen each other through many of life’s ups and downs – births, moves, heartbreak, sickness, and travels.  We have spent many hours together in prayer, laughter, and tears.  I love them all and hope my mansion is on the same block as each of theirs in Heaven.

Every year at our retreat, I spend the entire weekend in my fluffy pink slippers having such a blessed time with the wonderful women God brings together.  This year I am going with very mixed emotions.  It will be the last year I attend as a member of the Women’s Ministry team and as a member of our church.   My husband feels that we need to worship together as a family elsewhere.

This has been a very hard thing to accept, but God has made it clear to me that He is closing the door on this chapter of ministry and perhaps opening another one.  I have peace knowing that God is leading and I am following, but I tend to get very attached to people and places and as the weekend draws to a close, it will be with a full, but sad heart that I will leave this chapter of my life behind. 

But in the meantime, bring on the spa treatments.  I am ready to be refreshed in Jesus!

Blessings,

Carol

6 Responses to “Heart Spa”

  1. And may your time be truly blessed there. I have been active in churches for a long time, happily married, lovely family of 5 daughters, yet having a group of friends as you describe has always alluded me. I’ve always been the ‘leader’ and a ‘loner’ throughout my life. How I would love to have a bunch of girls that are my friends, rather than just acquaintances and contacts. Enjoy!

  2. Sara L. said

    This sounds like such a blessed retreat! I had never thought of a spa retreat such as this, but maybe we could get something like that together at our church…Thanks for planting that little seed! Have a great time…I know it will be full of blessings!

  3. Beverlydru said

    Carol, I know what it feels like to be called out of where you are and not know where you are going. Abraham and Sarah have been there-done that too. Most thought we were nuts. God didn’t ask us to understand, but to obey. Go for it!

  4. […] About Heart Spa […]

  5. […] {HEART} Blogs Jump to Comments A few weeks ago, I went away to the Annual Women’s Retreat with the ladies from my church. For some reason, they asked me to MC the weekend.  It may have […]

  6. […] to be in full time ministry. You may also remember that God seemed to be calling me away from the women’s ministry position and the church we had been attending for the past 7 years or so. As painful as that was for me, I […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
