I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Easy Burritos

Posted by Carol on March 3, 2008

Technically, today is really Sunday, if you believe in using a calendar, but this is DeeDee’s recipe carnival and since she is kind enough to host it, I will play nice and call it by her title.  Plus, I’m the one who’s late here, so I have no one to blame but myself for this Day-After-Saturday-Stirrings Recipe posting.

I wasn’t planning on posting at all this weekend as I explained here, but the very first thing my husband said to me when I walked in the door after being away all weekend was “I’m starving, would you please make me some bean burritos?”.  I think he might  have said “hi” first, but I’m honestly not sure. It did make me wonder if he and my daughter had anything to eat at all while I was gone, but the pile of dirty dishes in the sink eased my mind about that.

And to give credit where credit is due, my husband created this recipe. I don’t mean to say he actually created burritos, but he figured out this one all by himself a few years ago without a recipe book or anything. 

In the spirit of total transparency, I have to admit that I was less than thrilled that within the first 2 seconds of walking in the door, I was already being asked to cook something. But since I had just gotten back from a church retreat where we talked about such things as loving your neighbor and having a servant’s heart – I may have even been the one who brought up all the “love thy neighbor” talk in morning devos today – I guessed that I had better practice what I preached and put my money where his mouth is and make these burritos.

Easy Burritos

1 package flour tortillas

salsa – we prefer hot

1 can fat free re-fried beans

shredded Colby/Monterrey jack cheese

Heat tortilla on a flat griddle until lightly browned on both sides.  If you have a large griddle, you can do several at once. In a sauce pan, combine refried beans and about 1/4 to 1/2 cup salsa, stir and cook until just hot.

When the tortilla is browned to your liking, sprinkle the shredded cheese on it, place a generous dollop of the re-fried bean/salsa mixture in the middle, fold it up and enjoy!

For more great recipes, check out Saturday Stirrings at It Coulda Been Worse.

Muchos Gracias,

Carol

2 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Easy Burritos”

  1. Yum! Thanks for the recipe… I think I’ll add this to my menu plan for this week. Okay, who I am kidding. I never seem to have a menu plan… smiles.

    By the way… I’d love to meet you and your friends in New Jersey.

  2. I could do this; I could do this!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
