I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Blog Question About “Incoming Links”

Posted by Carol on March 5, 2008

It’s Backwards Works for me Wednesday at Rocks in my Dryer.  I wonder if that means it will snow tomorrow?  My daughter’s 4th grade teacher told her class that if they wore their clothes backwards to school, they would have a snow day the next day.  Anyway…

I may have mentioned a time or ten that I am pretty much a computer illiterate.  It is amazing that I have not blown up my computer yet, which is more than I can say about the first three cars I drove as a teenager (my poor dad). So here’s a question for those who are more blog experienced and computer savvy than I.

Sometimes after I publish a new post, I will soon notice an incoming link to my post. If I click on it, it takes me to another site that will link back to my blog, but credit someone else for my post.  Here’s a recent example: “Kiwi and Emu wrote an interesting post today.  Here’s an excerpt…”  Then they quote my post and, if you click on Kiwi and Emu, it takes you to my blog.  

What’s up with that? Can I do anything about it?  Or shouldn’t I even bother?

If you have any questions that keep you awake at night, head on over to Shannon’s blog and ask it there.  Then get some sleep.

8 Responses to “WFMW ~ Blog Question About “Incoming Links””

  1. Jenni said

    I think that’s happened to me once, come to think of it. Fascinating question. I’m sure there’s nothing you can do about it, and I wouldn’t worry about it really. I mean, if they click on the link, then they’ll see your blog and know it’s you. If they don’t click on the link, it’s not like they would have clicked on it had your correct name been there. It’s still annoying , though…

  2. Summer said

    Those are spam blogs, or splogs. Basically they have a computer program that lets them search for blogs and steal the content by publishing it on their site. They don’t care,or probably even know, who the writers really is they just add a few names that they cycle through as they steal content. There really isn’t much you can do. If you can find who is hosting their blog and complain enough you can get it shut down, but they’ll just start a new one elsewhere the next day.

  3. Weird! I’m not sure I understand. Is it a link in email or on your blog itself? Are you saying other people are taking credit for your post?

    I’m confused!

    But then it’s late and I’m tired. ha!

    Duckabush Blog

  4. I’m not sure I understand the question properly…are you saying that you don’t like it (or it bothers you) when people link to you?

    Because I thought that’s the point of blogging – well, not the whole point, but one of the points 🙂

  5. How do you notice an incoming link? Help, I am clueless.

  6. Annette said

    it’s a spam blog. You can delete that link if you want, but I tend to leave them up. I have found some pretty interesting blogs following the links back. Doesn’t cost you anything but might, just might get someone coming to your site who hasn’t before.

  7. Those spam links are most annoying. Luckily, the WP spam blocker has been catching most of them. But, if you get one that does get through, make sure you de-mark it as spam to help the filter catch them better. Like earlier commenters have said, that’s all we can do right now.

  8. second ThePearLady – de-mark it. but that’s all we can do!
    🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
