I Throw Like a Girl

Answered Prayers?

Posted by Carol on March 6, 2008

Prayer is as simple as talking to God, yet as supernatural as talking to God.  That we can share our hearts and make our requests known to the almighty Creator of the universe is pretty mind boggling.  That He wants us to share our hearts with Him is amazing.

Many of us were taught to pray as children.  Prayers like, Now I lay me down to sleep… or God bless Mommy and Daddy and the missionaries… The prayers of children are sweet, innocent, trusting.

Adult prayers are different.  They can be as trivial as Please help me find a good parking spot at the mall. Or they can be serious, gut-wrenching outpourings of the heart before God, and everything in between.  Some people pray daily.  Some pray only in emergencies.  Some pray constantly.

Prayer requires faith.  Faith that God hears our prayers.  Faith that God answers our prayers.  And faith that our prayers make a difference to God, that He would change the course of our lives or the lives of others based on our requests.

Some people mistakenly say, “God didn’t answer my prayer” when things don’t turn out how they were hoping or the way that they think they should.  But God always hears our prayers and answers our prayers.  Just not always in our timing or in our way.  But His ways are higher than our ways, and His thoughts higher than our thoughts.

I have had one particular prayer request that I have shared with my friends here in Bloggsville.  I asked God to provide the financial means for me to attend the She Speaks Conference in June.  I wrote about it here and here.  I reeaallly want to go to this conference. I have for several years.  I prayed that if it is what He chooses for me then I will trust Him to provide.  And I am thrilled to say that it must be His will for me to attend the conference this year, because I am registered and paid in full! (You can’t see me, but if you could, you’d see me doing the happy dance!)

Here’s how it happened. If you look at my sidebar under my blogroll, you will see “Favorite Places”.  There you will find a link to a wonderful ministry called  Transformed by Grace.   My dear friend, Sylane Mack, is the president and principal speaker of that ministry. 

**As a side note, if you ever need a speaker with a powerful testimony to speak at your event, please consider Sylane.  What God has done in her life is nothing short of miraculous.  She speaks to women’s groups and co-ed groups. I know, that was a shameless plug, but you really should call Sylane.  Trust me on this one.**

Anyway, God has been leading Sylane to write a book, so I told her about the writer’s track of the She Speaks Conference.  The next thing I know, she asked her Board of Directors if they would send BOTH of us to the Conference.  She would take the writer’s track; I would take the Speaker’s track; and we both would go to the session on marketing to learn ways to grow the Transformed by Grace Ministry.  And they approved it!  This is totally a God-thing, because the board of directors (most of them, anyway) do not know me from Adam.  Or should I say Eve?  But they are paying my way to this Conference!  Thank you, Jesus!

However, even if they had said, “No”, and only sent Sylane, God still answered my prayer.  He would either provide another way for me or give me a peace that this is not my year to go. 

My job is to trust that He knows best.

There are many other things that I have been praying about.  I have a sweet friend who just finished her last chemo treatment 2 weeks ago.  Praise God the tumor is shrinking!

I have some family members going through an extremely difficult time.  I wrote about that here.  Maybe someday I can tell you the whole story.  But things are still not going well there.  As a matter of fact, things are worse.

In both cases, God is listening, God is working, God will answer.  I trust Him.  That is a choice I have made. It is not a choice based on wishful thinking. It is a choice based on what God has told me in His Word and what I have experienced with Him throughout my life as a Christian. I pray that you will choose to trust Him, too.

Romans 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, and who have been called according to His purpose.”

Jeremiah 29:11 “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you,  plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Blessings,

Carol

3 Responses to “Answered Prayers?”

  1. Pam M. said

    Carol, how wonderful for you! This is bona fide goosebump/confetti moment. You obviously were meant to attend this and God will move mountains when He wants His children to be where they need to be.

    You know, somehow, it doesn’t surprise me that God used Sylane in this situation, too. That woman has a heart as big as Texas. Not only are you going, but you now have a lovely, godly traveling companion.

    Yay God!
    Blessings to you,
    Pam

  2. Beverlydru said

    Yippety skippety! That is awesome & wonderful what God did to make a way where there seemed to be no way. My soul sings!

  3. […] it several years ago. If you want to read how God provided a way for me to go this year, click here. To see what other bloggers will be going to the Conference, check out Lysa TerKeurst’s […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
