I Throw Like a Girl

We’re Havin’ a Party!

Posted by Carol on March 7, 2008

Ultimate Blog Party 2008

If you’re here from 5 Minutes for Mom, welcome!  If not, that’s ok, I don’t mind guests that show up without RSVP-ing!  This is my first Blog Party and I’m so glad you’re here.

I Throw Like a Girl has been around since October 2007.  So we are still very new.  It used to be called “Love, Hugs, and Prayers from Carol”  because I was so new at this I didn’t know that I would actually have to name my blog when I set it up.  Even when my daughter was born, they let me have the whole time I was in the hospital (all 2 days of it) to decide on her name

But I soon realized that even I wanted to gag every time I read the name of my blog.  It was just too sickeningly sweet.  So, in December, I held a ginormous Name This Blog contest.  There were all kinds of cash and prizes offered. The prize was a $5 Starbucks gift card.  My 1 faithful reader at the time, Linda from 2nd Cup of Coffee voted and – guess what? She won and cast the deciding vote that named my blog I Throw Like a Girl.  Thanks again, Linda!

I try to post several times a week.  I participate in Works For Me Wednesdays at Rocks in my Dryer and Saturday Stirrings at It Coulda BeenWorse.

I don’t have small children anymore, but I do have a 19 year old son who is away at college.  I may have mentioned about a kagillion times that I miss him  – A Lot. I also have a 16 year old daughter who is a sophomore in high school.  She is absolutely not going to college unless I get to go with her and live in her dorm.  She doesn’t know that yet. 

Since this is my blog, I pretty much write about whatever I feel like at the time.  Sometimes it’s a funny story or observation.  Sometimes it’s a devotional.  I don’t do pictures, though. Not because I don’t want to, but truth be told, I don’t know how.  Everytime I try, the picture comes out sooooo big that the whole screen is taken up with an eyeball or something.  That’s just not pretty.

So take a look around, make yourself comfortable.  I’ll be serving warm apple dumplings and vanilla ice cream shortly.  Oh, and if you leave a comment, you will be entered into a drawing for lots of cash and prizes a $5 Starbucks gift card! (The drawing will be held on the last day of the party, Friday, March 14th)

Enjoy!

Carol

89 Responses to “We’re Havin’ a Party!”

  1. Pam M. said

    My office is always cold, which is where I am at the moment. It’s just about lunch time, so please bring on the warm (emphasis on “warm”) apple dumplings, and if I can have chocolate ice cream in place of the vanilla, I’ll take that. My wimpy bowl of Progresso chicken noodle soup just isn’t doing it for me today.

    Enjoy your day, my friend!
    Love, Pam

  2. wendy said

    Hi Visiting a few Blog party sites I chose yours, because I like the name. My daughter is 7 and is an awesome ball player. Thanks for letting me visit. Hope you have a fantastic blog Party

  3. Amber said

    I like your blog name and banner. This is my first party too! woo hoo!

  4. Mamma D said

    Happy Party Week. Cool blog with a cool name!!

  5. I throw like a girl too. My DH is always reminding me and with 3 young boys I have been forced to practice so I won’t be teased by ALL of them later on. I’ll be back later for apple dumplings and ice cream – yum!

  6. Wow. I don’t think I can even throw like a girl anymore. I used to throw like a guy once, but high school is soo over . . . Anyway, just stopped in from the Ultimate Blogger Party to say hello! Glad to meet you, and good luck with your blog!! 🙂

  7. Jane said

    I like the name of your blog……it is very clever!!!
    Oh my, this apple dumpling is to DIE for! I think I will need to jog to the next party location!
    Hope you make it over to my place.

  8. Ok, so I won’t enter for the drawing because I already one once; however, I am open to dumplings. I just want to say I love it here and am so glad we have met. If you are here for the first time, you picked a good one to try out. Come back often and get to know Carol. She throws like a girl and writes like a pro and loves like a friend!

  9. kate5kiwis said

    hey, i have to say that i clicked on you at the UBP cos of your name: love it!!
    our 18yr old son just left to go to university (college) a week ago. he is now 3 hours away… i really miss him too.
    i wrote /this a month before he left.
    love kate X

  10. Linda said

    I’ve seen you around on other sites and I’m glad to finally meet you! And apple dumplings and ice cream sound great!

  11. swavatam said

    I love the name of your blog! And the picture is awesome, too! Great party — nice to meet you!

  12. Rebecca said

    Carol,

    My first blog was called Random Ramblings. I had to name it something, that was my first thought, so that’s what it was. Now I’ve moved on to the very exciting Ramblings by Reba (renamed it when I moved over to WordPress). It’s a LITTLE better, at least. 🙂

    Rebecca

  13. Tanja said

    I haven’t been to Starbucks in years, but the town I live in just had one open last month. Please consider me in your prize drawing. Thanks.

  14. Natalie said

    Apple dumplings and vanilla ice cream sound heavenly…yum!

  15. Nise' said

    Your blog title caught my eye as I have a daughter who lived and breathed softball while in middle school and high school. What kept me was the apple dumplings and ice cream! LOL.

  16. Bethanne said

    Can I have 2 scoops of ice cream? I found you through LPM and noticed your title…….funny post!

  17. Jennifer said

    I can sympathize on choosing a blog name–I think one of the main reasons I haven’t started one yet is that I can’t decide what to call mine! I’ve come up with three names and just am not sure…

  18. Elaine said

    Thanks for hosting us here at your place. I like what you said about how you’re going to live in your daughter’s dorm. It just tickled me. I think my mother would have done that…

    Anyway, have a great week of parties and thanks for the apple dumplings! ; )

  19. taradawn said

    tee hee… when I left home and went to college my mom actually MOVED to the same area where I went. She was a single mom and I was an only child and honestly she has been following me around ever since 🙂 I love it. Now that I have 3 kiddos it is wonderful to have grandma so close by.

    But don’t tell your baby you’ll be living in her dorm room with her just quite yet!

  20. Laurie said

    Nice to meet you 🙂 I hope you’ll come visit my party too– I have a giveaway!

  21. Cherrye said

    But, what did you name your daughter?!? Ha

    I love your blog name. Very catchy. Enjoy the blog party and come visit me if you get a chance.

  22. The Moody Foodie said

    I just want you to know that I love the blog name. In fact, had it still been named Love, Hugs and Paryers from Carol I probably would have passed it right up. (I’m just all hateful that way, I guess.)

  23. Terri H said

    You are too funny. Love your blog set up. Awesome party!

    Have fun!

  24. Miss Expatria said

    I really love your sense of humor. Nice to meet you!

  25. […] For the Blog Party – Click The Link Below (Sorry for the mix up!) Jump to Comments CLICK HERE FOR THE BLOG PARTY!    […]

  26. morgansvoice said

    Hi! I really like your blog, you seem so straight up and funny! Have a great day and a great party! 🙂

  27. MaryBeth said

    Oh how I love apples and ice cream!! Yummy! Great blog and party!!

  28. Funny blog! I love your header (reminds me of “A League of Their Own”) and sense of humor.

    Sizing down photos is super easy once you know how — do you have Photoshop?

  29. corrin said

    i’m dying to know what your daughter changed her name to and what her real name is!

  30. jayedee said

    i’m jayedee from sunny central florida! nicetameetcha! party on dudette!lol and if you like chickens (and what woman doesn’t like chickens?) stop by the lost world and check out the awesome giveaway i have going!

  31. Jenn said

    Dumplings sound yummy!

  32. Katie said

    Warm apple dumplings? I’m in!

  33. Nice to meet you, Carol! Happy blog hopping!
    -Heather

  34. Chris said

    Love your blog Carol! And I’m glad that you are getting to go to the conference that you so dearly wanted to attend. God is good!

  35. sprittibee said

    So cute! I’ll help with the pictures if you want. It really is very easy and the program that fixes your photos is magically free! Come on over to my blog party and leave me a comment… or just email me – 🙂

    🙂 I throw like a girl, too. Truth be known… that is.

  36. Hi Carol! I’m Cher – StardustLullaby.com – nice to meet you!!
    I LOVE the name of this blog – thank you Linda 🙂

    Apple Dumplings sound darn good – so does a Starbucks …

    Come visit me at my Party – Music, Cartoons, Games and Party Favors! We’re giving away an Award-winning Stardust lullaby CD! http://stardustlullaby.blogspot.com/2008/03/welcome-gals-to-ultimate-blog-party-at.html

    Sign up on our mailing list for a chance at our monthly giveaway! http://www.StardustLullaby.com
    Happy Partying, Carol!! Cher

  37. samismom22 said

    Oh my those apple dumplings were great…thanks so much. And my kids are 13 and 11 and I already think I won’t be sending them far away for college either!! 🙂

    Enjoyed your sense of humor. I will be stopping back.

    Happy Blog party. 🙂

  38. Susan Chester said

    Gosh, I would do just about anything for some warm apple dumplings and ice cream right about now. As it is were having boring old oatmeal.

  39. That’s so funny. Do you have your suitcase already packed for dorm???

    I love pictures, and gotta admit it took some trial an error to get it right.

    Have a great party.

  40. michelle rosborough said

    Cute blog name

  41. I started with the blog name Mommyhood for Lara so I know exactly how you felt 🙂
    Nice to meet you!

  42. Taryn S said

    Happy Blog Party!

  43. Flying Monkey said

    Great Blog party! I even have my party clothes on! Come on by and Jam at my blog!

    DEB

  44. gnubee said

    Love your blog, the name caught my eye – who would ever admit they throw like a girl? I like your sense of humor! Photos are fun, I’ll show you how, it only took me a few months to figure out how to do it! No, seriously.
    Blessings

  45. Lesley said

    Thanks for having me to your party. I enjoyed it.

    Lesley
    http://www.pillowcasetalk.blogspot.com

  46. Joanne said

    I love any dessert with apples! Thanks for the hosptiality and please come on over for a cocktail or a coffee.

  47. Jen said

    Hello!! I just started blogging this past Oct too so I’m a newbie as well. It sure is addicting isn’t it?!? It’s nice to meet you!

  48. Dawn said

    Hey Carol! I am hanging out for the warm apple dumplings and vanilla ice cream! Sounds sooo yummy right now! I have two children too but they are both girls and little- 7 and 15 months. They are a handful! I hope to see you around the party circuit! Stop by and say hi!

  49. I so feel at home here! BTW – I throw like a girl too! 😉 My oldest is only 16, but learning to drive! What a smack in the face when they really don’t need you anymore! If you come up with a story for your daughter that works please let me know – I’ll use it on my son! Hope you’re enjoying the party! Thanks for having me!

  50. Great blog. Nice to meet you. Happy blog partying!

  51. Heather said

    I came for the party and enjoyed reading your blog 🙂

    ~Heather

  52. Christy said

    Hey,
    This is my first blog party. YEEHAW! It is awesome to meet so many new friends. The blog name is catchy. Good job.
    Christy
    http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/sharpcrew

  53. Greta said

    I think my mom felt the same when we we (3 girls) left for college. She’s doing just fine although she and my dad recently bought a house about 30 minutes from us…appropriately dubbed “the grandparent house.” Stop by my party – it’s rockin’!
    Greta
    http://www.ilovemrpibb.blogspot.com

  54. S.B. said

    Hi, just stopping by the party.

    I have a party up on my blog too. Please stop by if you have time. Thanks.

    S.B.
    Be Thrifty Like Us
    http://bethriftylikeus.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

  55. Natalie said

    I love the name of your blog! Good luck with becoming your daughter’s dorm mom! (Hey, that job could help pay for her college…) Happy Blog Party!

  56. What a great intro! You are very funny. Hope I win all the cash and prizes!!!

  57. Holly said

    I love this Ultimate Blog Party business. This is my first year, but I have come across so many great sites already, yours included! Happy partying!

  58. Brandie said

    Hello Carol!
    I like the name of your blog very much right now – and I really honestly can’t throw at all. I can’t even say I throw like a girl. I throw more like a newborn who accidentally got a toy in her hand, doens’t know how or why it got there and just kind of randomly lets it go!
    Anyway, I think naming the blog is hard! Mine used to be cute and crafty but it kind of grated my nerves after a while too! LOL

  59. wondermommy said

    I can sympathize you missing your son. Mine is only four, but when I’m away I miss him terribly.

    Stop on by my blog party if you get a chance; it was great visiting yours.

  60. Bonnie said

    I love the name of your blog and I cracked up when I read the story ! (your 1 faithful reader … won the contest … HILARIOUS !!)

    My party is happening HERE

  61. Kim Conger said

    Nice to meet you, Carol!

    God bless you!

  62. i-Mommy said

    Love the name of your blog! I’m pretty new to the blogosphere, too.

    Gotta go do some more blog-hoppin’ now…Take Care!

  63. Jerri said

    Carol,
    I agree with your concerns about sending your daughter to college. I’m only 25 but I grew up in a Christian environment and a small town, and I am just appalled at some of the stuff that goes on at colleges (and everywhere else really).

    But there is a solution. I lived at home and went to a commuter college, and I loved it. The classes are smaller, and you get instructors who actually learn your name and are willing to help you. (and it’s cheaper too!)

  64. Marilyn said

    Oooh, I throw like a girl to ..lol. What a great party! Thank you for your hospitality.

  65. LOL Lovely introduction! I’ve heard raising teenagers is like nailing Jello to a tree! *wink* I’ve got 10 years before I have to worry about THAT but it was still nice to “meet” ya!

  66. smtwngrl said

    Happy Blog Party! I’m looking forward to getting to know you better. Hope you’ll stop by and say hello while you’re out and about!

  67. Candie said

    I really do like the blog name. It is catchy.

  68. Great blog and party! Smiles!

  69. Colleen said

    My son is only three and I get teary eyed already when I think about the day he’ll go off to college. Great party! Nice to meet you. Come on over and party with me at my blog.

  70. DK said

    Hi Carol – good to meet you! Love your blog AND your name, great choice. Thanks for letting us tromp through your house on the party tour. Please stop by if you’re in the neighborhood.
    All the Best –
    DK

  71. You, Ms. Carol, are a funny woman! Love your blog title – it has made me laugh every time I have seen it. You are a fab hostess as well…glad to have gotten to know you a bit better.:) Stop by my blog if you get time ‘cuz the Party is on there as well.

    Alyson
    http://threepsinapod.blogspot.com/2008/03/it-is-never-too-late-for-good-party.html

    PS- If you are interested, Shannon of Rocks in My Dryer fame has a fabulous Blogging 101 site at http://www.bloggingbasics101.com/101/
    Good luck!

  72. Jodie said

    Hey I loved dropping by and hearing about your blog naming contest – such a great party story. I love this whole blog party idea and am dropping by all over the place at the moment.

  73. Katie said

    I love the name of your blog – it caught my attention on the 5MFM mr. linky list and I had to come and see 🙂 And I love starbucks -woohoo! 🙂

  74. kristen said

    Nice to meet you! My daughter is only 2, but I am sure I will be joining her at college as well 🙂 Thanks for letting me take a look at your blog!

  75. Crystal F said

    I like your blog name! Have fun at the party!

  76. lil ole me said

    Love your blog name!
    Can’t wait for the apple dumplings and ice cream! Yum!! 🙂

  77. Lisa W. said

    Hi, nice to meet you. Would love for you to stop by my blog party. Have a great day! 🙂

  78. Kim said

    Nice to meet you! Come on over to my blog and say hello. Happy Partying!

  79. Suzi said

    You are hilarious and i love the blog name that was finally decided on. I will certainly be coming back to read more in the future. Come on over to my place and say hello sometime!

  80. Theresa N. said

    I like the name of your blog. And I think all motheres should be able to go to college and stay in the dorm with our daughters. 🙂 Good thing my daughter has finished college, or she would be panicing over that idea.

  81. […] asked for comments. I have, however, bribed for comments by offering all kinds of cash and prizes Starbucks gift cards :).  If you are a lurker, please take the time to introduce yourself, I will gladly pay your blog […]

  82. Nothin wrong with throwin like a girl! 😉 xo-Lolly Jane

  83. wineymomma said

    See I don’t throw like a girl but I can’t catch to save my life. Never have been able to!!!

    Love your blog!

  84. Erica G said

    I like your blog. I find it interesting to see why or how people chose the names for their blogs. I want to start one, but I don’t know where to start or what to call it.

  85. Nicole said

    I came for the party! Loved your blog! I guess it’s a good thing you have two years to get your daughter used to the idea of you being her dorm mate!

  86. Butterbean said

    Great site and great name! Sign me up for some Starbucks and then come for a visit!

  87. Gillian said

    I had to giggle because my dad always told me I threw like a girl when playing baseball … uhhh, dad! I AM a girl!!

    Hope you had a great party week!

    Gillian Gauthier
    http://www.gigiphotography.typepad.com/gigiblog/

  88. Marie J said

    Loved your party, even if I was fashionably late. Any apple dumplings left? What exactly is an apple dumpling anyway?

  89. April W said

    Hello,
    Nice to “meet” you. I have 5 kids and cannot for the life of me imagine what will happen when they all move out. I think my ears will ring from the silence.Good luck to your daughter on her future at college with mom!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
