I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Homemade Mac & Cheese

Posted by Carol on March 8, 2008

My baby turned 16 last weekend and when I asked her what she wanted for her birthday dinner, this is what she asked for.  As a matter of fact, both my kids love this recipe – but then who doesn’t love mac & cheese?

Homemade Macaroni & Cheese

1 – 1 1/2 cups elbow macaroni

8 oz. Velveeta cheese cut into 1″ cubes

1/2 stick butter

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 cup flour

1 3/4 cups milk

Cook elbow macaroni according to package directions.  Meanwhile, in a large sauce pan over low-ish heat, melt the 1/2 stick of butter with the salt & pepper.  When the butter is melted, add the flour and whisk together.  Turn up the heat and slowly add the milk to the butter and flour mix, stirring constantly until thick and bubbly. 

Congratulations! You have just made a roux!

Turn off the heat and add the cubed Velveeta.  Stir until melted.  Hopefully, you have used a large enough saucepan that you can add the drained macaroni to this melty cheesy sauce.  If not, you’ll have to dirty a mixing bowl and stir it all together.  Pour it into a casserole and bake in a 375 degree oven for 30 minutes.

Sometimes, I add some shredded cheddar cheese to the melted Velveeta for more cheesy goodness and I top it with Parmesan cheese for even more flavor.  You can find more great recipes over at Saturday Stirrings at It Coulda Been Worse.

Yum,

Carol

 

3 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Homemade Mac & Cheese”

  1. You can’t go wrong with a recipe that includes Velveeta, I always say. Yum!

  2. Kim said

    When my kids were little they PREFERRED Kraft. 😦 But now that they’re grown, they love my homemade.
    I still don’t understand how anyone could PREFER Kraft???!!!
    Thanks for sharing a simple but yummy recipe!!

  3. Tara said

    I’ll have to give this a whirl. I have yet to find a homemade mac that I like! 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
