I Throw Like a Girl

I {HEART} Blogs

Posted by Carol on March 13, 2008

A few weeks ago, I went away to the Annual Women’s Retreat with the ladies from my church. For some reason, they asked me to MC the weekend.  It may have something to do with the fact that I like to talk, a lot. On almost every report card from 2nd grade on, my teachers said something about me needing to talk less and pay attention more, blah, blah, blah, yada, yada, yada….. Who knows where that would have gotten me in  life?

The retreat organizers wanted some biographical information to share with the group so they would know who their esteemed MC was.  Now, I have gone to this church for 8-ish years, been on the women’s ministry team for 7, been on almost every retreat and event held in those 8-ish years – if they don’t know me by now, they will never, never, never know me (oops, that’s a song, sorry). So I was really at a loss as to what in the world to put on my bio sheet.  They know my husband, they know my kids, they know me.  The only new thing I had in my life to tell them about was my blog.

I had kept my blog pretty much a secret.  A few of my friends knew about it, but other than that, only you, my new friends in Bloggsville – all 2 of you – were aware of its existence.  So at the end of the bio sheet, after they read all the usual information, they said, “Carol also has a blog, www.ithrowlikeagirl.com Go and check it out sometime.”  I can’t believe how nervous that made me.  Now it really felt like my blog was “out”.  I was exposed in front of people I see regularly IRL (in real life).

Every once in a while over the next few of days at the retreat, the subject of blogs would come up.  Some people knew exactly what a blog was, others weren’t quite sure.  Even after I tried to explain it to them, I could tell they just didn’t “get” it.  They couldn’t fathom why I or anyone else would want to waste their time writing or reading blogs.  I tried to put into words how fun it is to peek into other’s lives and then interact with them in the form of a comment.  I explained how writing my blog just makes me feel better, it gives me a place to put all the random thoughts that go ’round in my head and a place to record all my “I Love Lucy” moments so that I can get a laugh at my own expense.  It gives me a place to record things that are on my heart from God.

But then, I realized that I didn’t get it either until a few months ago. 

Before I started this blog, I thought blogs were stupid.  Why would anyone want to keep an on-line journal?  Why would I want anyone reading my thoughts?  If I want a journal, I’ll go buy a pen and paper and do it the old fashioned Dear Diary way, thankyouverymuch.

But then I got my daily email devotion from www.Proverbs31.org  That particular day, the devo was by Marybeth Whalen.  At the bottom of the devo, there was a link to “visit Marybeth’s blog”.  I don’t know why, but it intrigued me, so I clicked.  I read about Marybeth and her Half Dozen kids.  I read about her ministry and her writing and speaking.  I clicked on some of her blogroll and read their stories.  I saved Cheaper by the Half Dozen as a favorite and added a few more from her blogroll to my favorites. 

Then, slowly, it came to me that  I could do this.

The rest, as they say, is bloggy history.  (Do they really say that? I don’t think so. But I’m saying it).

I {heart} blogs. I love reading them and writing mine.  I may be my own biggest fan, but that’s ok.  I promised myself I would not live and die by my blog stats.  I do look at them, but I try not to let them be a measure of my worth. 

It is just great to read blogs that make me laugh – life hasn’t been too funny around here lately, and, oh, have I needed to laugh.

I love reading blogs that inspire me in my walk with the Lord.  We all could use some of that. 

I love the sense of community blogging offers through comments. I have to admit that I LOVE comments.  I have never out-right asked for comments. I have, however, bribed for comments by offering all kinds of cash and prizes Starbucks gift cards :).  If you are a lurker, please take the time to introduce yourself, I will gladly pay your blog a visit and return the favor.

I have tried to incorporate a little bit of each of my favorite things about blogs into my blogroll.  There are blogs that are funny; there are blogs that inspire; and there are blogs that show a slice of life that many of us will never get to experience.  Some of the blogs in my blogroll do all of the above at different times, some, all at the same time. Go ahead and pay them a visit. 

And don’t forget to tell them I sent ya!

Happy Blogging!

~Carol

4 Responses to “I {HEART} Blogs”

  1. Jamie said

    I just stumbled on your blog today…looks like you have a real fun site. Normally, the first time I read someone’s blog I just lurk, but after reading this post I felt like I had to comment. I am really new to the blog world (my blog is just two weeks old). I’ll save your blog to my favorites and try to come back often.

    Jamie

  2. beverlydru said

    Hi Carol, I get it! I’m a regular so didn’t want to pass up the opportunity to tell you I like your blog too! Keep on talking, blogging, praying, an pressing on.

  3. Hi Carol– well, first of all thank you so much for alerting me that you wrote this post. I am so glad I didn’t miss it! I also heart blogs and have totally benefitted in so many ways from the whole blogging thing. Meeting nice folks like you is such a gift– that I totally would have missed out on if not for the blogosphere.
    I have enjoyed catching up on your blog. I have always wondered how to find you because for some reason when you have left me comments in the past my blog doesn’t have a link to yours. Finally today I googled your name and your blog name and found it no problem. I am going to add your blog to my blogroll.
    Thanks for reading and I look forward to keeping up with you through your blog–
    And let me know the next time you give away a giftcard to Starbucks. I want a small Cinnamon Dolce Latte– or is it a small?

  4. Carol,
    I admit…I am lurking. 🙂 I will also admit I had big hair in the 80’s too….and graduated from Western Illinois University – just a stone’s throw from your ISU. I have loved blogging as well….and have been amazed at the amount of conversation it has brought IRL. Even with those that say “it is a complete waste of time.” Have you heard that one yet? Blessings to you!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
