I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Fumi Salad

Posted by Carol on March 15, 2008

Arrrgh! ! My husband has the flu, but has just informed me that once the Advil kicks in and he’s feeling a little better, he wants to start working on our taxes. And while I do feel appropriately sorry for him, I wonder, do you think he’ll notice that I gave him Skittles instead of the Advil?

So, kids, this may be my only opportunity to post today, so I wanted to make this Saturday Stirrings recipe a good one.  I got this from my sister in law years ago and it’s always a hit.

Fumi Salad

4 cooked chicken breasts cut up in pieces

1 head cabbage – shredded (I use my food processor for this)

8 green onions chopped

1/2 cup sliced almonds

1/2 cup sesame seeds

1 package chicken ramen noodle soup

1 cup canola oil

1/3 cup rice vinegar

-Brown almonds and sesame seeds in 1 tablespoon butter – watch closely so they don’t burn

-pat almonds and sesame seeds on paper towel to absorb excess butter

-add onions to shredded cabbage

-crumble up the dry ramen noodles and add to the shredded cabbage

-add the cut up chicken, browned almonds and sesame seeds to the cabbage

-mix it all together

Salad Dressing

Mix the 1 cup canola oil with the rice vinegar and the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles.  Shake well and pour over salad just before serving.

 Pray for me that I don’t stick a pencil in my eye as we attempt to do our taxes – only half kidding!  Oh, and go check out more great recipes at DeeDee’s.  It sure beats doing your taxes anytime!

~Carol

 

7 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Fumi Salad”

  1. Oh girl, I’m supposed to be doing our taxes right now! Instead I’m still cruising around the internet & popping in on your blog. I’m even getting money back, so I have no idea why I am procrastinating so much!

    Hop on over to http://anapronaday.blogspot.com for my Kiss Me I’m Irish Beef & Cabbage. Want to know why they called it “corned” beef? Come on, I’ll tell ya….

  2. Kim said

    My taxes are done. Halleluiah!
    Always up for new salads, so thanks for sharing!

  3. Jeni said

    Our taxes are done, too, and refunds received. Hubby does them; if it were up to me, they wouldn’t be done until April 14th.

    The salad sounds good! I’m going to save it to my file.

  4. Farrah said

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Hope your hubby feels better soon! We are joining the doing taxes club this weekend as well. At least I think we are…he keeps putting off doing them…

  5. jesslovesjesus said

    carol,
    if i ever had to work on our taxes, i would eat the pencil. seriously, i feel for you. but, on a happier note, that salad sounds so good- like something i had growing up that i don’t have the recipe for —thank you for sharing it – i’m going to try it soon!

    love
    jess

  6. This looks really really good. And my daughter is always looking for an excuse to break out the chop sticks (otherwise known as weaponry) at dinner.

    I’ll be trying this. Thanks!

  7. happy geek said

    Followed you home from your comment on Rocks in my Dryer, re Jesus wants her to be his little girl.
    That was profoundly said.
    It has stayed with me all of today and as we contemplated the cross in church today I kept thinking that Jesus died for not just me, but for everyone. He wants us all to know him.
    Thanks for the beautiful word.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
