I Throw Like a Girl

The Story of Future Husband and Flirty Girl

Posted by Carol on March 18, 2008

A very long time ago, I was in high school.  And as I may have mentioned a time or two, I met my husband there.  (Well, he wasn’t my husband yet, but you know what I mean.) What I haven’t mentioned is that Hubby is three years older than I,  therefore, he graduated a few years ahead of me and went off to a college far, far away leaving me behind in high school.

Being young and immature, we pledged our eternal love and promised never ever to date anyone else while we were apart. It seemed like a good plan.  What I didn’t take into consideration was that while I was remaining in high school with the same old boys I had known pretty much since we were all in diapers, future husband was going off to a new land populated with a whole new flock of females. Did I mention it was far, far away?

Well, one of these females didn’t have much respect or consideration for the fact that future husband and I were in love and had plans.  As a matter of fact, she pretty much threw herself at future hubby.  She waited outside his dorm, she sat at his table in the cafeteria, and followed him wherever he went.  She asked him out constantly. I probably should mention at this point that Future Hubby was attending the same Christian college I mentioned here, so that’s all Flirty Girl could do without getting kicked out of the school.  For that reason, I am thankful for the legalistic Christian college we eventually both attended.

Future Hubby told Flirty Girl about me.  He asked her to stop following him around. But she didn’t stop. She was extremly persistent. Future Hubby also told me about the situation and I was none too pleased with Flirty Girl.  But, alas, I was far, far away back in high school.  What could I do but trust Future Husband? And stew about the situation constantly?

I was pretty ticked off at Flirty Girl.  I didn’t like her at all. You might even say I hated her.  Who did she think she was and what gave her the right to stalk my Future Husband?  What had I ever done for her to have so little regard for anyone else’s feelings but her own?  I allowed myself to entertain these thoughts and felt pretty justified and self righteous in my anger towards Flirty Girl. 

I did not turn to God about these things and I clung to Future Husband for my security when I should have been clinging to Jesus.  I let my anger fester.  I thought of all the horrible things that I wanted to see happen to Flirty Girl.  One day in the middle of sulking and wishing all kinds of plagues and pestilence upon Flirty Girl, the Holy Spirit spoke to my heart as plain as day.

He said, “Don’t you realize that I love her just as much as I love you?”

That thought made me angry, and in my pride I responded, “You can’t love her as much as you love me!  I don’t treat people the way she is treating me!”

“Maybe so, but still, I do love her and I died for her, just as I died for you.  She is My child.”

Ouch. 

I had no response because He was speaking the truth.  Flirty Girl was His child and I was wishing evil upon someone that Jesus not only loved with an everlasting love, but shed His precious blood for.

That day changed me forever.  I no longer hated Flirty Girl.  I forgave her.  And I asked God to forgive me.  Flirty Girl was important to God, therefore, she should be important to me. 

I don’t know where Flirty Girl is today.  I do know who Future Husband ended up with, though.  But I will never forget her and the lesson God taught me through that situation. 

There have been other “Flirty Girls” in my life.  Those who are hard to love or whose sins seem worse than mine.  But in reality, I was no better than Flirty.  She had the guts to let me know exactly where she stood, while I was just self righteous and proud.  Sin is sin and we all fall short of the Glory of God. 

Like the woman in Luke 7:47 who loved much because she had been forgiven much, I pray that I will have God’s perspective of sin and of all of us sinners.

7 Responses to “The Story of Future Husband and Flirty Girl”

  1. Beverlydru said

    Ouch is right. Beautiful, thought-provoking post. Thank you.

  2. lil ole me said

    Oh, wow. I know that I needed to be reminded of this.
    Really makes me think… thanks for sharing this story!!!

  3. Pam M. said

    Carol,

    I read this with a lump firmly planted in my throat and with tears in my eyes. As painfully convicting as this was for me to take in, its message was a very much needed reminder to me this week. I have been reading your blog faithfully since I was told about it, including past posts of yours. This has to be the best one yet.

    Thank YOU, Carol. He is risen indeed!
    Love, Pam

  4. Farrah said

    I almost started crying when I read this. It’s a good lesson more Christians need to learn.

  5. Fantastic post. I have known many flirty girls.

    I’m pretty sure I have been the flirty girl for others.

    I’m really thankful for grace and repentance and mercy and forgiveness. really. thankful.

    Love your blog.

    Melissa~

  6. Amy Carroll said

    Carol,
    I was tickled pink to see your link on Lysa’s blog today. What a fantastic post!

    God uses everything. I followed a guy to a Bible study (yes, scary stalker, Flirty Girl!) that changed my life. Several years later I was judging another girl for doing the same thing. God gently reminded me why I had initially started going to the study and how He used His Word to change my heart and motivations. He is so good! The other girl didn’t become my best friend (she wouldn’t pick up the snake in biology class–that kind of girl), but I started to pray that God would do a work in her life too.

    Thanks for sharing your story!

    Amy

  7. Amy Brooke said

    Wow, that is a great story. It is a great reminder that we love others because of God forgiving and loving us. You really tell stories well!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
