I Throw Like a Girl

A Salad For Easter

Posted by Carol on March 19, 2008

DeeDee at It Coulda Been Worse is having at Easter editon of Saturday Stirrings and I immediately thought of this salad. It is perfect for Easter with the combo of Springy flavors and colors. It is just de-lish!

Spinach, Bacon, and Apple Salad

5 slices bacon

1/4 cups sliced almonds

8 cups spinach, rinsed, stemmed and torn into pieces

1 Red Delicious apple, unpeeled, cored and chopped

3 green onions, sliced

Dressing:

1/4 cup vegetable oil

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1 teaspoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon prepared mustard

salt & freshly ground black pepper to taste

In a lidded jar, combine all dressing ingredients.  Shake well and refrigerate.

In a skillet, cook bacon until crisp.  Drain on paper towel; crumble.  In the same skillet, cook almonds in 1 tablespoon bacon grease. Shake over high heat until almonds are browned.  In large salad bowl, combine spinach with bacon, almonds, apples, and onions.  Toss with dressing.

Makes 6-8 servings. (from Creme de Colorado Cookbook)

I also posted this recipe at Works for me Wednesday this week because it’s just that good! If you would like more great Easter recipes, head on over to Saturday Stirrings!

Happy Easter! He is Risen!

~Carol

10 Responses to “A Salad For Easter”

  1. That looks yummy! I may have to add that to the menu!

    Jen

  2. mom2fur said

    Oh, wow, salad with bacon is the best, isn’t it? I’m copying this one to try. Thank you!

  3. lil ole me said

    Sounds delicious! We’ll be trying out this recipe!
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. mom2fur said

    Hi, again! Wishing you a Happy and Joyful Easter, too!

  5. Jamie said

    This looks great! I always do a strawberry spinach salad, but I am going to try this one instead. Thanks for the recipe.

  6. makingitcount said

    This sounds wonderful – I think I just nixed the broccoli/bacon salad for tomorrow in favor of this one! Off to the groccery store – again!
    Happy Easter!

  7. Kim said

    Anything with bacon has to be good! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    Have a blessed Easter!

  8. I love spinach! My kids will eat it too… if I smother it in feta cheese & dressing.

    Stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen for My Big Fat Greek Salad. I apologize ahead of time for playing with my food.

    http://anapronaday.blogspot.com

  9. Wifey said

    Sounds yummy! Have a happy Easter!

  10. That one really a-peels to me. 🙂 I will be adding this to my roster. Thanks!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
