I Throw Like a Girl

Chocolate Eggs and Easter Bunnies – Or Not

Posted by Carol on March 21, 2008

My earliest memories of church are of my grandmother taking me and my younger sister with her to Mass.  The service was in Latin and since they didn’t offer foreign languages at my pre-school, I had no clue as to what was being said.  I usually resorted to what many kids do in church, I either took a nap on my grandmother’s lap or drew pictures on the bulletin.

My parents rarely took us to church. It would be unusual for us to go even on Easter.  However, the year that I was 9 was different.  My father had become a Christian through the faithful witness of a friend at work and he decided that he wanted us to go to church on Easter Sunday as a family.

Not knowing where to go, he did the most logical thing he could think of, he let his fingers do the walking through the yellow pages.  He didn’t just close his eyes and point, leaving the decision totally to chance.  Instead, he analyzed the names of the churches trying to find just the right one.

He didn’t have to look too far.  By the time he got to the “B” section, he had found Bethany Bible Church.  He figured that any church with the word Bible in its name had to be good.  So off we went – Dad in his polyester leisure suit, Mom in her mini-skirt, and little sis and me in matching Easter dresses.

On the way into church, I remember thinking, Today is Easter. This is important, so I will pay attention to what the pastor has to say. Rather than drawing pictures on the bulletin or taking a nap on my mother’s lap, I listened to every word the minister said. And since it was Easter, his sermon was on, you guessed it, the death, burial, and resurrection of Jesus. 

And I listened closely.

I listened when he said that we are all sinners and have come short of the glory of God.  Even as a 9 year old child, I understood that the lies I told and disobedience to my parents were sins.

I listened when he explained that God is a holy God and cannot allow sin in His presence.

I understood when the pastor told us that the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Heaven through Jesus Christ.

I just knew that the pastor was talking to me.  That this was the real reason for Easter, not the chocolate eggs and jelly beans I had found in my basket that morning.

At the end of the service, the pastor asked us all to bow our heads and close our eyes.  He then asked that if any of us wanted to accept Jesus as our Savior to pray and ask Him to forgive our sins and come into our hearts.  And with my child-like faith, I did.

Then the pastor asked anyone who had just asked Jesus into their hearts to raise their hands so he could pray for them. This was a little bit more than my 9 year old self could handle. I didn’t mind praying, but actually raising my hand, even with heads bowed and eyes closed scared me half to death.  I didn’t know what to do.  I had prayed, but did I really want to share that information with this man? 

So, I did what any self-respecting 9 year old would do.  I peeked.  And when I peeked, I saw my mom raise her hand.  Then I knew that I had made a good decision and that I could raise my hand, too.

If any of you are reading this post because you found my blog by searching for a way to keep your eye-liner from smearing (my most popular post by far – seriously), perhaps you need more than make-up tips today.  Perhaps, just like Someone gave me the idea to pay attention in church that Sunday, that Someone has led you here to find the real meaning of Easter.  If so, I’d be glad to hear from you. 

And I won’t even ask you to raise your hand.

10 Responses to “Chocolate Eggs and Easter Bunnies – Or Not”

  1. jubilee said

    Gotta say, I got tears in my eyes when you said you peeked and saw your mom’s hand raised. I could feel the agony of uncertainty as I read your post. And the relief.

    Been there, done that, too sister!

  2. Beverlydru said

    This is pure gold. Reads to me like you have a gift of expressing truth. Bravo! More!

  3. Margie said

    Wonderful post. I’m glad you peeked. 🙂

  4. Kim said

    Thanks for sharing! I love hearing about the moment Jesus changes people’s eternities!

  5. Farrah said

    This is a wonderful post and perfect for Easter!

  6. jesslovesjesus said

    c-
    oh, what a wonderful story – i loved how you included all the details, i felt like i was there…thank you..i love thinking about the day i first realized He loved me! that He died for me!
    love
    jess

  7. Oh Carol, I just love you! And I totally love this story. How simple and poignant. I’m so glad you wrote it all down for your children and grandchildren. I was really blessed by this.

  8. What a wonderful post. 🙂 I would have peeked too. 🙂

  9. […] the Carnival and I’m afraid Mr. Linky will kick me off  if I attempt to do so again.  The first link is about my testimony and how I met Jesus on Easter when I was 9 years old.  The second […]

  10. Sunshine said

    I followed your link here through “It Coulda Been Worse” and WOW – amazing! I look forward to catching up on your archives. Sunshine

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
