I Throw Like a Girl

My Daughter, Joshua

Posted by Carol on March 24, 2008

It’s happened.  The thing I’ve been dreading since the day she was born 16 years ago has happened.

We already had a son when we found out we were expecting our second child due in March of 1992.  Of course, we were thrilled. 

For both pregnancies, we decided that we did not want to find out the sex of the baby ahead of time.  (Yes, that technology was available back in the dark ages when we who are now peri-menopausal were pregnant). I felt that finding out that  information was like opening your best Christmas present before the big day, then re-wrapping it and sticking it back under the tree.

Although I chose not to find out the sex of the baby, I would vacillate daily as to whether I wanted 2 boys or a boy and a girl.  Since I only had a sister growing up, I had no clue what it was like having a male child around the house prior to our son’s birth, but I had quickly grown to love all things little boy. Also, I thought it would be great for our son to have a little brother.

Then there was the part of me that loved the idea of a little girl. I envisioned lots of pink frilly clothes and all the other fun feminine things that come along with having a daughter. No, I did not think ahead to the moody teen years, but that’s another post for another day.

My husband, on the other hand, definitely wanted another boy, but not for the macho male reasons you might think.  He was thinking ahead to the moody teen years, and his thoughts included such things as teenage boys wanting to date our future maybe daughter. He felt much safer having another son.

Our son, who was 3 years old when our new baby was born, had decided that he was, in fact, having a little brother and called his little sister Joshua for the first two months she was home.

My baby girl, now 16 years old, can, at times, be that moody teenager Hubby envisioned. But the vast majority of the time she is a joy. She is smart, adventurous, and fun with a great sense of humor. She is also a dark-haired, dark-eyed beauty. So it was just a matter of time before the boys would start knocking on our door.  Some have knocked, but she has never answered.

Until now.

My baby has a boyfriend. But God, in His infinite mercy, has seen fit that the first boy that she would really like would live over 1000 miles away.

 Thank You, Jesus.

4 Responses to “My Daughter, Joshua”

  1. Beverlydru said

    You make me laugh! Back in the dark ages I also chose not to know the sex of our babies before they were born and we were quite sure our youngest (a girl) was a Joel. Surprise! There was no space for a nursery so we didn’t have to redecorate. She is also in love now and Papa Bear is having a hard time of it. 1000 miles away, huh? Your husband must have a powerful prayer life. : )

  2. That was great. I love your blog! I found you thru the Ultimate Party and wanted to invite you over to my site for a fun contest this week. You could be my lucky winner or my unfortunate loser . . . either way, I hope you laugh a little.
    http://www.wearethatfamily.com

  3. lil ole me said

    Oh boy! We are having our first child, a little girl in about 10 weeks. My husband is already worried about the “boyfriend” stage! 🙂

    And, just wanted to let you know that I made your spinach-apple-bacon salad for Easter dinner and it was a hit!!! Thanks again for sharing it.

  4. maleesha said

    Ha! How funny. My daughter is 5 months old and already I dread the trouble she could get into. Sigh. My son is almost 4 and I don’t worry about him nearly as much.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
