I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Island Grilled Halibut

Posted by Carol on March 29, 2008

Several years ago, Dear Hubby and Dear Son went on a trip to Alaska. It was part business for Hubby, but mostly for fun.  Once the business part was over, they added another five days to the trip to visit one of Hubby’s childhood friends, S, who now lives in Anchorage.

One day Hubby, Dear Son, S & his three sons went on a fishing trip in Homer, Alaska.  They had the time of their lives and caught over 1000 pounds of halibut between all of them.  A very happy Hubby had 100 pounds of it filleted, flash frozen and overnight-ed back home to his unsuspecting wife.

All this was well and good except for the fact that no one in our family likes seafood.  What in the world was I going to do with all that fish?

I poured through my cookbooks looking for a recipe that would actually make our new freezerful of fish palatable to my family. This was somewhat difficult because we also do not like mayonaise which is strangely found in a lot of seafood recipes.

Then I found it.  In my Creme de Colorado cookbook, I found the perfect halibut recipe.  Which is ironic when you think about it because Colorado is a land-locked state.  Hmmm….  Anyway, here it is:

Island Grilled Halibut

Marinade:

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 teaspoon ground white pepper

2 tablespoons sugar

1/3 cup soy sauce

6 tablespoons corn oil (I use canola)

3 green onions, chopped

1 tablespoon sesame seeds

6 halibut steaks, 1 inch thick

Combine marinade ingredients and pour over halibut steaks. Cover and marinate in refrigerator overnight.  Place steaks on grill and cook 7 minutes per side or until fish flakes easily. (You really do need to marinate overnight. Don’t try to rush this or it’s not quite as good.)

This recipe has turned my kids into seafood lovers.  However, Dear Hubby, try as he might, still can’t deal with fish.  He blames his mother for all the fish sticks she served him as a child.  Oh, well, that just leaves more for the rest of us! Whenever I make this recipe for company, they either take the recipe home with them or call me the next day for it.  It is very delicious and easy.

For more great recipes, head on over to Saturday Stirrings with DeeDee!

Just for the halibut,

 

 

 

.

 

5 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Island Grilled Halibut”

  1. I love sea food, as long as it isn’t “fishy”, which makes no sense at all. I’m going to try this marinade with my Mahi Mahi this week.

    For the halibut. Made me laugh!

  2. Kim said

    This sounds good! Have you tried it with other fish or just halibut? We generally eat tilapia, catfish, or salmon at our house.

  3. Cayce said

    This sounds delicious. We love seafood. My husband lived in Alaska for years and caught salmon for a living. I’ll add it to my menu this week.

  4. My kids went to Grandma’s in FL for spring break. Fished every day & cooked it for supper every night. They loved it. Will have to make seafood more often.

    Stop on by sometime. I’ll even save you a plate of roasted lamb.:D

    Confessions of an Apron Queen: http://anapronaday.blogsspot.com

  5. Jeni said

    We lived in Anchorage for 4 years, and as a result had lots of halibut in the freezer. My mom would take big pieces and fry them in a slightly-spicy Cajun coating – it was very good!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
