I Throw Like a Girl

Matters of the Heart

Posted by Carol on April 1, 2008

How appropriate that today is April Fool’s Day.  There are some things going on in my life today that cause me to laugh at the irony.  And both are matters of the heart.

A few months ago, I started noticing that my heart was doing strange things in my chest.  It felt like there was a party going on in there that I was not invited to.  My heart would beat quickly, then stop, then start up again, then flutter and feel all “bubbly” (for lack of a better word). It only happened once in a while and since I am a firm believer in denial, I didn’t think much of it.  Even when it started happening every day, I still didn’t want to call my doctor because I didn’t want her to think I was a hypochondriac.

So, the next time I was at Dr. A’s office with my daughter, she asked how I was doing.  I told her I was fine except that my heart did this weird thing once in a while.  Next thing I know, Dr. A wants to send me to a cardiologist for a consultation. 

Then, she said this, “It’s probably that you’re getting to be peri-menopausal, and heart palpitations are common for women of your age.”

Thank goodness she’s older than me, that’s all I have to say. 

And then she said, “I’m referring you to a female cardiologist because she won’t think you’re crazy”.

Was that supposed to comfort me?

Off to the cardiologist I went, thinking she would pat me on the head, tell me I was peri-menopausal, and send me on my way home.  No such luck.  She wanted me to have an exercise stress test, an echo-cardiogram, and wear a heart monitor for 24 hours. 

I have already had the stress test. All I will say about that is that it involved sandpaper and removing my bra in a restaurant. Other than that, it wasn’t so bad. All was fine with my heart under stress.  It’s had a lot of practice.

Today I get to go back to the cardiologist to get the 24 hour monitor.  Supposedly, all the wires hide discreetly under my clothes and the monitor itself is a small little pack that attaches to my pant’s waist band.  There could be no better April Fools joke that anyone could play on me than this.  I really do not want to have to explain to people at work that since I am peri-menopausal, I am having heart palpitations, but just to make sure I’m not crazy, my doctor wants me to wear this.

Anyway.

The next matter of the heart is actually a prayer request.  I can’t write too much about it because I try to guard my family’s privacy as much as possible.  But if you would be so kind as to say some prayers for Dear Hubby and me today, I would really appreciate it!

Oh, and tomorrow is college son’s 19th birthday!  So glad he was born on the 2nd of April instead of the 1st!

Blessings,

Carol

4 Responses to “Matters of the Heart”

  1. Pam M. said

    Carol,

    I’ll be praying for you and Dear Hubby, as well as your beautiful, bubbly heart. And a very Happy Birthday to your son!
    Love and blessings,
    Pam

  2. april said

    Well Carol,

    I sure hope your heart is well. I’m sure that’s not very fun to go through and then waiting for results is always the worst.

    I just said a prayer for you and your hubs.

    Peace,

    April

  3. Beverlydru said

    Prayers and hugs. You are writing so well – straight from the heart in a gripping way. When you are published, I’m going to be able to say, “Yes, I knew her when she was blogging it all out.” Blessings and encouragement to you.

  4. I am hugging you from afar in my prayers. Sorry I’m just getting caught up here. Happy belated to the nice college son who actually comments on his mama’s blog. Nothing to worry about there. Please let us know how all the tests turn out, sweet friend.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
