I Throw Like a Girl

“Don’t be afraid; just believe.”

Posted by Carol on April 8, 2008

 Mark 5:36b

These are the words Jesus spoke to a man whose daughter lay dying at home in her bed.  The man had sought Jesus out to beg Him to heal his precious child.  Just as word came that the girl had died, Jesus ignored what they said and told the man “Don’t be afraid; just believe.”

As a parent, I can only imagine how that man felt at that moment.  He had a choice to make.  He could look at the reality that his child was dead and let his heart fall further and further into despair.  Or he could look at Jesus and accept His invitation not to be afraid and believe.

Jesus offers us the same choice every day as we live our lives in this fallen world.  We can look around us and see the reality that bad things do happen.  People get sick and sometimes die way too young.  Husbands get laid off. Wives have miscarriages.  Engagements get called off.  Friends betray us.  Teenagers make poor choices.

Jesus was able to tell the the man not to be afraid in spite of the fact that the girl had died because He knew what He was going to do.  He knew that before the end of that day, He was going to raise the man’s daughter from the dead. Jesus knew the end of the story.

He knows the end of our story, too.  He knows that for the Christian, death has already been conquered.  He knows that Jeremiah 29:11 is still in the Bible. “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and future.”

So even though last week I wrote a post about how much I worry about my children,  I can choose to believe my Jesus when he tells me “don’t be afraid.”

 

4 Responses to ““Don’t be afraid; just believe.””

  1. Rebekah said

    I would say that I “stumbled” onto your site through Pioneer Woman, but I think I found you for a reason. I needed this today. I have been struggling for so long with my faith and my “walk”, and so many things going on in my life right now. Just this morning I asked God to show himself to me, and here I found your blog. I have bookmarked your blog, and look forward to coming back. Thank you for posting this…

  2. Chris said

    Thank you for this post. He does have plans for me. And I do worry and fret way too much. Thank you for telling me the Truth. Bless you!

  3. […] once wrote a post called Don’t Be Afraid, Just Believe based on the story of Jesus raising Jairus’ daughter from the dead found in Mark 5:36.  I […]

  4. […] once wrote a post called Don’t Be Afraid, Just Believe based on the story of Jesus raising Jairus’ daughter from the dead found in Mark 5:36.  I […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
