I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Tuscan Bean Soup

Posted by Carol on April 12, 2008

I think I may have mentioned a time or three that I work at a chiropractor’s office.  Some days are very busy with patients coming and going and lots to do to keep me busy. The phone rings off the hook, lots of insurance checks come in the mail for me to record and get ready to deposit.  Patients wait at my desk trying to make new appointments and pay their co-pays. I love those days. 

I love talking to all the patients and seeing what they’ve been up to since the last time they came in.  One time I was so engrossed in a conversation with a patient that when the phone rang, I turned to the doctor who happened to be standing next to me and said, “Could you get that, please?”

Fortunately, he’s very nice and gets a kick out of my quirkiness. And thank goodness for me his ego is not so big that he can’t answer his own phone when his office manager is being a little flaky.  I probably wouldn’t have lasted there as long as I have if he let things like that bother him.

But other days are a little slower.  On those days when all my work is done, the docs don’t mind a bit if I hop in the massage chair and read a book or magazine.  It was on a day like that when I found this recipe.  I made it last weekend for the first time, and it was very good.  Almost as good as the massage chair.  Enjoy!

Tuscan Bean Soup

1 cup baby carrots coarsely chopped

1 small onion chopped

3 tablespoons olive oil

2 15oz cans cannellini beans (white kidney beans for my non-Italian friends) rinsed & drained

1 32oz box reduced sodium chicken broth

2-3 teaspoons Italian seasoning

5 oz package of baby spinach

freshly cracked black pepper

In 1 tablespoon of the olive oil, cook the carrots and onion in a 4 quart Dutch oven over medium-high heat for about 3 minutes.  Add beans, broth, and seasoning.  Bring to boiling. Slightly mash beans, reduce heat and simmer uncovered for about 8 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add remaining olive oil to a skillet, add spinach and toss with tongs 1-2 minutes, just until wilted. Remove from heat.  Ladle soup into bowls.  Top with spinach and cracked black pepper.  Serve with bread.

Head on over to It Coulda Been Worse for more great Saturday Stirrings recipes!

Yum,

Carol

 

4 Responses to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Tuscan Bean Soup”

  1. We lived in Italy for 3 yrs. I remember delicious soup like this. Looks very yummy! Stop by for a plate of peach cobbler.
    For your daily dose of vintage goodness & a bit of silliness, stop by Confessions of an Apron Queen, the home of Vintage Thingies Thursdays.

  2. Kim said

    I love SOUP so thanks for sharing this recipe! Sounds wonderful!

  3. Fresh Girl said

    This sounded so good and so EASY that I whipped up a batch tonight for supper. Everyone loved it! I’ll definitely be hanging onto this recipe. : ) Thanks!

  4. jubilee said

    Sounds yummy!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
