I Throw Like a Girl

Jesus, Bring the Rain

Posted by Carol on April 14, 2008

For some reason, people who know me in real life assume that my life has been easy and that I have very few problems.  When I share something difficult I am going through or a prayer request about a pretty serious issue, they are sometimes surprised.  I’m not sure why that is.  I am usually a pretty positive person, but I also want to be “real”. I hope I have been.

While I have had a very nice life, in my 43 years, I have had my share of hard times. My parents divorced when I was in middle school, and I didn’t get to see my mother much. I went to a very strict legalistic college (my choice) that was so stressful to me that I began to have physical symptoms.  After getting married, we have had disappointments in ministry, some marriage problems, many moves, a miscarriage, illness of close family members, and have had to watch people we love go through something that no matter how hard we tried to help, nothing did. I know that there are people who have had to go through much worse than I have.

Yet, right now I cannot think of a time in my life when I have had so many different burdens to carry all at once. Because of privacy, I can’t share everything, but here are a few – I have a dear friend who right now is on the operating table having two vertebrae removed from her spine because of a cancerous tumor pushing on her spinal cord, my daughter is having serious issues at school, my son in college (over 1000 miles away) is having some challenges and wants me to come see him, like right now (which I can’t do), and my husband’s company may want us to move again.

Those are just the things I can write about.  Trust me, there’s more.

A few months ago, a friend of mine gave a short devotional at a meeting we were attending.  She shared about some of the frustrations in her life at the time and then shared how the lyrics to the song “Bring the Rain” by Mercy Me spoke to her heart.  As I look over these words, and think about the things going on in my life, I truly want to be able to pray, “Jesus, bring the rain” and mean it with all my heart.

“Bring The Rain”

I can count a million times
People asking me how I
Can praise You with all that I’ve gone through.
The question just amazes me
Can circumstances possibly
Change who I forever am in You?
Maybe since my life was changed
Long before these rainy days
It’s never really ever crossed my mind
To turn my back on you, oh Lord,
My only shelter from the storm.
But instead I draw closer through these times.
So I pray,

Bring me joy, bring me peace,
Bring the chance to be free,
Bring me anything that brings You glory.
And I know there’ll be days
When this life brings me pain,
But if that’s what it takes to praise You,
Jesus, bring the rain.

I am Yours regardless of
The dark clouds that may loom above
Because You are much greater than my pain.
You who made a way for me
By suffering Your destiny
So tell me, what’s a little rain?
So I pray,

Holy, holy, holy
Is the Lord God Almighty!

Amen,

Carol

3 Responses to “Jesus, Bring the Rain”

  1. beverlydru said

    Carol, I feel your pain and will be praying. A joy shared is multipled and a problem shared is divided as we bear one another’s burdens.
    It does seem to me that as the world gets darker, our walk is harder, with fewer winds of refreshing.
    May you have strength for today, rest for the night and joy in the morning.

  2. Kim said

    “It is he who works in you to will and to do his good pleasure.” He just wants your willingness, and he will do what you cannot.

    Daddy,

    Minister to Carol with your peace. Be the lifter of her head and grant her the grace to not just live but prosper and grow through these difficult situations. The same resurrection power that raised your Son from the dead is available to her to live victoriously despite her circumstances. Provide that power to her. Release that power and bring her victory.

    She is tired, Daddy, take her burdens and cause her to rest, physically, spiritually, mentally and emotionally. Renew and refresh her. Whisper into her ear of your love and care for her.

    Thank you, Daddy, that you are bigger than our circumstances.

    We love you because you first loved us.

    Amen.

  3. […] had to be this song after I posted this on […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
