I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Organizing Receipts

Posted by Carol on April 23, 2008

Anyone who knows me well will be shocked to see the word “organizing” in the title of one of my posts.  Organization is not my strong point.  The reason we only have two children is because I was sure that if we had a third, we would probably leave one at the grocery store or something. 

My point was proven when we went to visit my Dad one Thanksgiving.  We had both kids and the dog with us.  When it was time to leave, we did remember both kids, but had traveled an hour before we realized the dog was still at Grandpa’s house.  Grandpa was waiting to see how long it would take us to notice.  Thanks, Dad!

Back to my Works for me Wednesday tip – We don’t charge things to our credit cards.  The vast majority of our purchases are with our debit card which deducts the purchase right from our checking account.  Neither hubby nor I are particulary good at writing down our purchase at the register.  Instead, we just bring home the receipt to be recorded later in Quicken on our computer.  The problem with that was that my receipts tended to stay wadded up in my pocketbook, and hubby’s were all over the kitchen counter until I got around to recording them.  Many receipts were lost in the bottomless pit known as my pocketbook or simply thrown away by accident.

This past weekend, I was telling Little Sis about this dilemma.  Since she is not only 3 years younger than me, but also much more organized, she ran into her pantry and pulled out a little 5x3x4 inch basket (Longerberger no less!) and said, “here, use this.”  Now I just keep the basket on my counter near the refrigerator and all receipts go in there as soon as hubby or I get home. When I record them in Quicken, they get shredded or filed depending on the type of purchase. Problem solved.  Thanks, sis!

For more great household tips, go to Works for Me Wednesday at Rocks in My Dryer!

One Response to “WFMW ~ Organizing Receipts”

  1. I have issues with receipts too. I used to shove them in my wallet, purse pockets, botttom of my purse, coupon organizer, etc. Then when I cleaned out my purse I always the mound of receipts. I finally started putting my receipts in my pants pockets. Before I go to bed every night, I always empty my pants pockets and find the receipts. This has made my life easier. 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
