I Throw Like a Girl

American Idol ~ I know I’m a little late to the party

Posted by Carol on May 7, 2008

Ok, Kids. I’m going to attempt to live blog American Idol tonight.  We’re down to only 4 contestants, so how hard can it be?  (Much harder than I thought!)

David CookHungry Like the Wolf by Duran Duran – He’s probably got the best rock-n-roll voice of the bunch, but I have to agree with Randy, it was just alright. Gotta be honest, I never knew Duran Duran did this song originally and I never really listened to much Duran Duran so I had no frame of reference for this one.

Teenage Wasteland by The Who – (What was the name of this song?  I thought they said “Bob O’Reilly” but that makes no sense) Much better than his first song, but I still think David A is the best so far tonight.

Syesha Mercado – Proud Mary by Tina Turner – At first I thought this would be a good choice for her, but I was not impressed. Syesha proved there is only one Tina Turner after all.  On a side note, I like her hair curly much better than straight (she is still gorgeous, though).

A Change is Gonna Come by Sam Cook – A great song for her, much better than the first.  I’d be willing to bet that she ends up on Broadway. And in my opinion, there’s nothing wrong with that.

Jason Castro – I Shot the Sheriff by Bob Marley – I don’t even know what to say about that. I usually like Jason, he is so charming and I totally would love to fix him up with my daughter. But that song just left me speechless and not in a good way.

Mr. Tambourine Man by Bob Dylan – Did he forget the words or was he doing a great impression of Bob Dylan? A good job, much better than his first choice, but then, he had no where to go but up from there.

David Archuleta – Stand by Me – Absolutely the best performance of the night SO FAR.  Perfect song for him and he did a great job of it.

Love Me Tender by Elvis – He hasn’t even sung it yet and I am predicting he knocks it out of the park. Yup, I was right. According to my 16 year old daughter, he looks like he’s 12 years old. But that is neither here nor there.  He is the clear winner in my mind tonight.

Predictions – As we’ve seen, there is no predicting who will stay and who will go, but in my opinion, Jason was the weakest tonight.  And since he might find himself with a lot of free time in the next few days, have his people call my people and maybe we can arrange a date with my daughter. 

 

8 Responses to “American Idol ~ I know I’m a little late to the party”

  1. Pam M. said

    Hey Carol!

    This was pretty cool. Thank you so much for allowing me to experience American Idol vicariously through you and your blog.

    I must be the only human being in the free world who has NEVER SEEN American Idol. I kid you not. Never seen it…..not a clue what channel it’s on, what night(s) the show is on, nada.

    Yes, it does get somewhat cold and lonely living under that rock. :0)

    Love you!
    Pam

  2. mamacita said

    Welcome to the party! 🙂 I agree with you on just about all of it. I hate to see Jason go, but I think he might be the one.

  3. PajamaMama said

    I’m with you on the title of David C’s song…Teenage Wasteland of Baba O’Riley.

    We agree it’s time for Jason to go. Like…last week.
    He seems like a sweety though. Let us all know if he calls ya! heehee

    Blessings, Jeannie

  4. I totally agree about Syesha ending up on Broadway. They’d be blessed to have her.

    Great review!

  5. love the syesha comments….great post!

  6. Lorrie said

    Jason will go home. I’d almost bet money on it.

  7. Glad you joined the party. I loooove your headder- I, too, throw like a girl!

    Good review, too.

  8. Tammy said

    Ummmm, did Pam up above say she’s never seen AI. Ever? Wow.

    Love the comments.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
