I Throw Like a Girl

Happy Mother’s Day?

Posted by Carol on May 12, 2008

We went away for the weekend for Mother’s Day.  My husband’s mother flew from across the country to my sister-in-law’s home in Virginia, so off we went to spend Mom’s Day with family. 

It’s about a 4 hour drive from here if everything goes well. That means if there is no highway construction, bad weather, or accidents on Interstate 95. Things rarely go well on I-95.  

Since Hubs had just gotten back from a 10 day business trip on Thursday, he preferred that we leave Saturday morning.  I had been campaigning to leave on Friday night after I got done with work. I even volunteered to do the driving, but no go.  Hubs was determined to have 2 nights in his own bed before trekking down to VA Saturday morning and then turning around in a little more than 24 hours to make the return trip that was pretty much guaranteed to be spent sitting in traffic most of the way.

We got up at the crack of dawn, loaded our two dogs, and overnight bags in the way back of the car and off we went.  All was going surprisingly well until we hit Delaware.  Once we went through the tolls, our 11 year old golden retriever, Sadie, started whining. We didn’t think too much of it because my husband had been listening to voicemail at that time.  In his car, his cell phone calls come through the radio speakers, so we thought the strange voices were making Sadie nervous.

That was sadly not the case.

The next thing we know, our daughter, who was sitting in the back seat started yelling, “She’s pooping, she’s pooping!”

Dear Hubby who has a very strong gag reflex, (tested many times during the diaper changing years) started heaving and looking for a place to pull over.  We managed to stop near a grassy area, remove both dogs from the car, and yours truly got to clean up the mess.

While pulled over, a state trooper stopped along side of us and asked if everything was ok.  Hubs told him of the unfortunate incident with the dogs, and the trooper said, “better you than me,” and sped off.

We drove the rest of the way to Virginia with all the windows rolled down which combined with the poop smell, rain, and 50 degree temps, made for a very lovely ride. We were quite the sight to behold when we got to our destination.

The rest of the weekend was very nice, spent catching up with relatives, going to church on Sunday, and watching movies.

Our ride home was not as exciting as the ride to VA.  We did hit some traffic, had a highly emotional conversation with our 16 year old daughter, and got home by 10:30.

This morning at work, Hubby called me and asked, “How’s your stomach?”

“Fine, thank you, how’s yours?”

“Not too good.  My sister just called and told me that about 5 of the people at dinner last night now have food poisoning.”

Don’t tell him, but I think he is suffering from the power of suggestion – and a very sensitive gag reflex.

Happy belated Mother’s Day!

4 Responses to “Happy Mother’s Day?”

  1. Audrey said

    Wow, what a story. I found your blog through Melanie’s blog. Having two dogs, I sure can relate to those unexpected oopsies that sometimes do happen. Oh if only they’d go on cue like kids LOL. Sounds like you had a nice Mother’s Day. Me too…we drove down to see my own mom and dad and had a very nice weekend.

  2. Mel said

    Oh my…what an action packed weekend. We went to Virgina (Quantico) on Saturday too and turned around to come back to Delaware that night. On our way back I discovered that 95 was closed…how you close a major interstate, I do not know, but they did. We finally ended up at home around 11:30pm. I’m glad you got to spend mom’s day with family and hope you miss the bug!!

  3. Heather said

    Sounds like an interesting trip! I have been reading your blog for while – sorry that I have never commented before 🙂 …. Hope your mother’s day was happy despite the poop incident! We have a yellow lab puppy, so I am thinking that one day soon I will probably be able to relate!

    Blessings!
    ~Heather 🙂

  4. Son of mother who throws like a girl said

    MOM,

    Sorry its been a long time since I posted on your blog, things here at college are busy as ever. Love the story… love it even more that I didn’t have to deal with that smell! I will see you in 5 days, I will give you your mothers day card in person.

    Much love,
    you son

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
