I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Help During Stressful Times

Posted by Carol on May 28, 2008

I have shared probably more times than you care to hear that our family is going through quite a bit of stress right now and it doesn’t look like it’s going to let up any time soon.

One of the best pieces of advice I have received during this time is to “take care of myself”.  As a mom, it is so easy to be focused on taking care of everything and everybody else.  But I have found that by taking care of myself, I am better equipped to take care of the other things.

Taking care of yourself will look different for each person.  For me it means that I need to make sure that I spend time with Jesus everyday.  Purposeful, meaningful time of prayer and Bible reading.

For me, it also means exercising.  I had to do something with all this extra stress.  Right now I am working out in the evenings, but I intend to incorporate a morning walk with the dogs into my schedule.

Oh, and music, gotta have music.  I have a couple of CD’s that I like to listen to to relax.  Other times I always enjoy having my radio tuned to the Christian station.

I am sure this is very basic stuff for some of you, but it’s what Works For Me.  For more helpful hints of all kinds, check out Rocks in my Dryer.

Wishing you stress free days,

Carol

One Response to “WFMW ~ Help During Stressful Times”

  1. Donna said

    Linked to you from Big Mama today just because I do that periodically.

    I couldn’t agree more with your stress reduction/coping techniques – especially the first. You also might find that walking in the morning and then stretching in the evening might help on the physical side.

    A little chocolate never hurts as well. 😉

    Donna

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
