I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Bowties Alfredo w/Broccoli

Posted by Carol on May 31, 2008

I originally got this recipe from a service called The Six O’Clock Scramble.  Each week, I was sent a menu plan and shopping list of all the ingredients to make all the meals.  It was a great idea, but I don’t use the service any more.  BUT I did get a couple of really great recipes from them and this one is a winner!  It is a lower fat alfredo sauce that is also high in protein and calcium. Yum!

Bowties Alfredo with Broccoli

1 package (16oz) bowtie pasta

1/2 pound (about 1 head) broccoli florets

1/2 cup reduced fat ricotta or cottage cheese

1/2 cup plain non-fat or low fat yogurt

1 tablespoon butter or margarine

1 teaspoon chopped garlic (about 2 cloves)

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1//4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon dried basil

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Cook pasta until 2 minutes short of being done.  Add the broccoli to the boiling pasta for the final 2 minutes of cooking.

While the pasta cooks, us a blender or food processor to combine the ricotta or cottage cheese, yogurt, margarine or butter, garlic, walnuts, Parmesan cheese, basil, pepper and salt.  Blend until smooth.

When pasta and broccoli are cooked, drain and toss with sauce. Make sure to scrape all the sauce out of the blender.  Serve warm.

I’d love to hear from you if you make this to let me know how you liked it. For more great recipes, go to Saturday Stirrings at It Coulda Been Worse.  Go, now!

Mangia,

Carol

P.S. I’m making this for dinner tonight and will try to post a picture if I can. You know that I am photographically challenged though when it comes to this blog!

 

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
