I Throw Like a Girl

Manicurists Across America Love Me Today

Posted by Carol on June 2, 2008

On Saturday, my daughter and I went to get manicures.  My nails had finally gotten long enough without one of them breaking and I thought it would be a fun mother/daughter thing to do.  Off we went to Rodeo Nails.

I don’t know why they call it that.  We live nowhere near Rodeo Drive – or California for that matter.  I doubt that getting our nails done at a place named after a street in Hollywood will make us any more movie star like.

Anyway, the time came to pay.  You know when that is.  Right after they’ve clipped, moisturized, buffed and filed, and before they apply the nail polish.  What a disaster reaching into my bottomless pit of a pocketbook with newly polished nails would be.

I asked the lady how much would it be for two, since my daughter was getting her nails done across the room (so much for our mother/daughter bonding time).

“$20” she replied.  I handed her my debit card and told her that I would give the tip in cash.

Now, look at the picture of my nails above.  Please forgive the blurriness.  It looks like a fine manicure, doesn’t it?  How much do you suppose one should tip on a manicure like that?

10%?  15%?  20%?

How about if I told you 50%? 

Yup.  This math-challenged English major tipped each manicurist $5.00 cash on a $10 manicure.

I chalk it up to all the stress I’ve been under lately and having to do math quickly in my head.  By the time I realized what I had done, Dear Daughter and I were sitting with our fingers under the dryers. I tried to think of a non-embarrassing way to ask for the money back, but there was nothing that I could think of that would not mortify my daughter (or myself for that matter).

No wonder when I made an appointment to get my eyebrows waxed and a pedicure for later this week, they were more than happy to help me out.  Someone is bound to be very disappointed, though, because I am bringing my calculator next time – if I can find it in my bottomless pit pocketbook, that is.

Very well manicuredly yours,

Carol

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Manicurists Across America Love Me Today”

  1. Beverlydru said

    Pretty nails – pretty yard! Always better to overtip than undertip and sounds like you still got a deal.
    That would be a big treat for me as well… it’s taking the time to do it that trips me up.

  2. Okay, I’m only laughing because I’ve done nearly the same thing myself. Mental math is such a tricky thing for me that I goof it up more often than not. And the whole wondering if you can get the extra back…I’m there with you on that too.

  3. jesslovesjesus said

    oh my gosh! how funny – but i totally understand – i think it’s hard to figure out tip amounts for stuff like that….

    hee!

    love
    jess

  4. Mel said

    I always struggle knowing how much to tip for nails or hair. I probably give too much each time. Your nails look very pretty though!

  5. I have no idea what the appropriate tip amount is but agree it is better to over tip than to under tip…you don’t want anyone touching your brows after a tip that was too low 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
