I Throw Like a Girl

Thoughts from a Costa Rican Beach Chair

Posted by Carol on June 9, 2008

If you want to skip all my nonsense and just get to the point of this post, jump to the 5th paragraph. ūüôā

I wasn’t sure if I would have internet access here in Costa Rica, but lo and behold our hotel not only has access, but it’s wireless, too!¬† Whoo Hoo!¬† Dear Hubby brought his work laptop, so I hijacked¬†it for a little while to post on my blog.¬†

I have taken a bunch of pictures and since I forgot to bring the little dohickey thing I use to get the pics off my camera onto the computer, I’m going to have to wait until we get home to post them.¬† I thought I’d wait until then to tell you all the stuff I’ve been up to the past few days since pictures will do a better job of describing what it’s been like that I could do with just my words.

But there is a purpose to this post that I wanted to share with you.

(I almost said “y’all” – which goes to show that I read a lot of blogs by Southern ladies.¬† I am most certainly a Northerner.¬† I have even been known to use the word “wicked” to describe something, as in “wicked hot” and also the word¬†“honkin” like “honkin’¬† big”.¬† Very New Englandish, if I do say so.)

I had my devotions on the beach this morning and what a difference a change of scenery can make.¬† As I was reading and praying with the crashing of the waves as my background music, and views of the beautiful Costa Rican mountains and rainforests all around me, the words to the song “I Will Lift My Eyes” by Bebo Norman came to mind.

“I will lift my eyes to the Maker of the mountains I can’t climb. I will lift my eyes to the Calmer of the oceans raging wild.¬† I will lift my eyes to the Healer of the hurts I hold inside. I will lift my eyes to You.”

And as I was sitting there in my terry cloth towel covered beach chair,  speaking to the Creator of those beautiful mountains all around me, the One who spoke the waves crashing nearby into exsistence, suddenly my problems and worries seemed so small in comparison. 

If I truly believe that God is who He says He is, the Almighty Creator of the universe, the I Am of the Scriptures, then why do I waste my time worrying?

God and I had a good talk about that this morning as I turned all my cares over to Him.¬† I asked Him to use the very same omnipotence that He used to create this world to make some changes in my life and the lives of my family.¬† As Christians, so many times we don’t remember that we have access to His power through the Holy Spirit that lives in our hearts (Gal. 3:14-21)¬† I know that He will work His will in our lives and my job is to trust Him and obey.

“The Heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of His hands.” Psalm 19:1

One Response to “Thoughts from a Costa Rican Beach Chair”

  1. Beverlydru said

    There is much to be said for the freedom that comes with a change of pace and a change of place. I think there are some things relating to spiritual warfare involved with a geographical change. I’m just sayin’.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
