I Throw Like a Girl

Costa Rica Pics ~ As Promised

Posted by Carol on June 15, 2008

I have to admit that I feel guilty that I got to go on such a wonderful trip. I would never want anyone to think that I am bragging or showing off in any way. So, I need to point out that it was an award trip that my husband hosted as part of his job.  He got to bring a guest (me!).  I am so thankful for the time away with Dear Hubby and for such a beautiful place to visit.  We would not be able to take such a trip on our own.  With that said, here’s a little sneak peak into our trip.  I never did get that picture of the mysterious tattoo’d man, though.

Welcome to our hotel room.  Here’s a picture of Hubby preparing to host the awards dinner later that night.

Each room had a screened in porch.  This is the view from ours.  What a great place to sit in the morning for devos and in the evening with a good book!  

It was even furnished!

The resort had several pools and beaches, but this is the one I chose to spend most of my time on – when I wasn’t busy swinging through the trees!

 

No, this isn’t me, it’s a monkey that paid us a visit in a nearby tree.  The quality of this pic reminds me of the infamous Big Foot shot that is a total fake.  This monkey was very real, I promise.

This IS me getting ready to swing through the trees on a canopy tour.  There was a series of 11 cables. I stopped being terrified after the first 2 or 3 and then it really was a total blast!

Since both hands were obviously very occupied during the canopy tour, I couldn’t take any pics.  But I wanted  you to see what it was like, so here is a picture from a website of the tour.

 

Oh, yes, I promised in a previous post to let you know what celebrity I got my picture taken with.  Well, here he is: Charlie Sheen with me (on the right) and my friend, M (on the left).  Charlie was there on his honeymoon with his new wife, Brooke.  She was very gracious and took the picture for us as long as we promised to watch his show.  I almost, but caught myself just in time, said “What show?”.  That would’ve gone over big, I’m sure. (The show is Two and a Half Men, BTW)

 

One more beach shot before I go.  Pictures are still a big challenge for me to post.  I don’t know why it is still so difficult.  I would be embarrassed to tell you how many hours this one post has taken me.  But I hope you enjoyed the pics!

11 Responses to “Costa Rica Pics ~ As Promised”

  1. marit said

    Great pics! and nice to see you as well, because I havn’t been able to put a “face” on you up til now!

  2. Bea Scott said

    The swing thing looks fun! I also really like the view from your hotel room. Seemed like you had a great time.

  3. I had put Costa Rica on my “short list” but nearly crossed it off as people were saying it was a bad idea (as in: uncertain political climate or insects, etc.) but after seeing your pics I think I might let it stay on. Thanks for posting. The photos are great, BTW!!!

  4. beverlydru said

    Thanks for taking the time to post the photos. Loved them.

  5. Mel said

    Oh my gosh I am soooo jealous that you met Charlie Sheen. I had a major crush on him through my teen years. I was just reading about him and his new wife in In Touch and it had pix from their honeymoon…so cool. Your hotel room is beautiful and the view…gorgeous. How fun was it to swing from trees? Gotta do that one day. Thanks for sharing some amazing pictures. Maybe I will start planning my 10th anniversary next year!!

  6. I’d have to say you got a different view of Costa Rica. I went on a mission trip there a year or 2 ago and i was in the poorest 2 areas of the country. Pictures are on the missionaries website. http://www.kuzdas.com it was a great trip. Sorry for the random comment. I just saw your post on wordpress’ site and figured I’d take a look since it talked about Costa Rica.

  7. Melanie said

    What show? Hee hee, that would’ve been a buzz kill. Great pics, I’m jealous. It looks beautiful!

  8. Amanda said

    your trip looked wonderful, I am sure it was greatly earned! The pics were wonderful. ( I found your blog on little ole’ me’s blog!)

  9. Forgive me, Lord, for I am jealous! Oh just joking, but I’ve been so out of it, I didn’t even know about this. I’m so sorry. When I get back from the conf, Ill be more regular stopping in. This is just incredibly beautiful. I’m so happy for you. My husband and I celebrated 23 years June 14! Blessings, Carol. You deserved the joy!

  10. […] Costa Rica Pics ~ As Promised – Pics of her trip to Costa Rica, including one of her with Charlie Sheen who was there on his honeymoon, lol.  I’m jealous…not about Charlie Sheen, but about going to Costa Rica […]

  11. […] reason, not too long ago, she decided to read my blog.  I think my sister told her I had posted pictures of our Costa Rica […]

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
