I Throw Like a Girl

Teen Logic

Posted by Carol on July 1, 2008

In our house, we never rarely use bad language.  My kids are not little, so it would not be the end of the world if they heard mom or dad “slip” and say a curse word now and then, but we don’t have to worry about them repeating things at inopportune times anymore, like in Sunday School or in front of the pastor.  But we just don’t do it. 

Both Dear Hubby and I were raised in Christian homes where there was no cursing, went to a Christian high school, and then a very legalistic Christian college.  If we had said a curse word at college, there would have been a distinct possibility that we would have our tongues cut out of our mouths with a dull machete. 

But other than that, college was a total blast.

Not that I’m in favor of using curse words.  As a Christian we do want to be salt and light and different from the world.  But I don’t fall over in anaphalactic shock if I hear a bad word.

All that to say, the other day my teenage daughter and I were talking and she let the word H.E.L.L. slip.  She caught herself and waited for my reaction. 

“So, you learned a new vocab word at school?” I said.

“Uhm, no, I just decided that H.E.L.L. is not a bad word to use.”

“Oh, why is that?”

“Well”, she explained, “we don’t use God’s name because He is holy and we want to show Him respect,  but H.E.L.L. is just a place made for Satan and his demons.  Why should we treat it with the same reverence and respect that we give to God’s name?  It’s just a word and by not using it we are putting it on the same level with things that deserve to be set apart.”

Allrightythen.

I think I will send her to my Alma Mater and have her explain things to the Dean.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Teen Logic”

  1. beverlydru said

    You gotta love it. They really know everything… such handy people to live with. You cracked me up with this post.

    On another note- I am still having trouble posting comments with your new layout. The only way I was able to do it tonight was through my Google Reader. I could not see the comments link when I went directly to your site. I hope I am the only one having this issue. : )

  2. Cristina said

    I stumbled across your site thru the WFMW recipe that you posted and decided to poke around. Ya know, she’s got a point… how do you argue with that logic? If I think of something I’ll be sure to come back and let you know but I think she’s got that one all locked up.

  3. Carol said

    I’m kinda feeling like I need to clarify a bit here. Although I found this conversation with my daughter humorous, I am not advocating that we use bad language. As Christians, we need to look in God’s word and ask the Holy Spirit to guide us in every area of our lives, including our speech. The Bible has much to say about our conduct and our tongue. If you are really seeking His will regarding this matter or any matter, He will show you.

    “Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing. My brothers, this should not be.” James 3:10 (NIV)

    Blessings,
    Carol

  4. stefanie said

    My 13 year old daughter laughed. So did I.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
