I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Strawberry Shortcake, the Perfect Summer Dessert

Posted by Carol on July 5, 2008

According to my husband, that is.

He is actually the one who makes this dessert and I had to twist his arm for him to give his OK to share this top secret recipe.  If you use those little round spongy cakes that you buy at the grocery store to serve Strawberry Shortcake, for the love of all things good, I beg you to try this recipe at least once and see if your family doesn’t think you’re the best cook ever!

Now, I have a confession to make.  This is not rocket science, nor is it a recipe that Martha Stewart would probaby use.  But it is good, and that’s what’s important when it comes to strawberry shortcake or any dessert for that matter.

Oh, yeah, one more thing.  When we make our strawberry shortcake, we really don’t measure, so I’ll estimate the best I can.

Strawberry Shortcake

About 2 pints strawberries rinsed, hulled and cut up.  Put in a bowl and sprinkle 1/2 – 1 cup sugar on top.  Stir gently and let sit in the refrigerator at least one hour.

Now, here’s where the big secret comes in.  Go to the grocery store and buy a box of Bisquick.  Follow the directions on the back of the box for Strawberry Shortcake, only omit the butter, and add a bit more sugar than it calls for. When it is a doughy consistency, make 6 plops of dough on a large greased cookie sheet – about 1/2 cup each.

Bake at 425 degrees for about 10-12 minutes or until center is no longer gooey.

Cut in half and assemble with cut up strawberries and cool whip.  Here is a picture of the finished product.

I think we may have the same issues with Mr. Linky that we did last week.  Just go ahead and click on him below and it will take you to a new page where you can add your link and see the others.  I am still working on getting the “normal” Mr. Linky here for Saturday Stirrings and I hope to have all the kinks worked out by next week. In the meantime, thanks for your patience!

And if you don’t have a blog, please feel free to leave your recipe in the comments. If you do have a blog, please don’t forget to link back here so your readers can see all the other recipes.

1. Carol ~ Strawberry Shortcake 2. MeMe Lorie

Powered by… Mister Linky’s Magical Widgets.

One Response to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Strawberry Shortcake, the Perfect Summer Dessert”

  1. Lorie said

    I went to Mr. Linky and I am putting a good recipe on my blog. I loved reading through the works for me ones and finding good recipes. Iwill be back to your blog-I enjoyed it.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
