I Throw Like a Girl

WFMW ~ Online Bible Study

Posted by Carol on July 15, 2008

I work 28 hours a week at the chiropractors’ office and another 10+ hours a week for Transformed by Grace Ministries. Then I still have a house, a husband, two teenagers, and two dogs to take care of.

I also consider getting together with friends for coffee, breakfast, brunch, and/or dessert a legitimate hobby that I don’t get to practice enough.

That leaves me precious little time to attend an organized Bible study that is actually held at my church or some other location, that starts at a specific time on a specific day of the week.  The days I work for the doctors, I don’t leave the office until 7:00.  Most evening Bible studies begin at 7:00.  Daytime studies are also out because of the aforementioned daytime jobs.

While I do believe that a Bible study held live with a bunch of other women to discuss, pray, cry, encourage, and bond with is the best choice,  an online Bible study has been a wonderful option for me. 

Yes, you can buy books and work through a study on your own, but for me the interaction of the online study has made all the difference. 

I personally am doing Beth Moore’s Believing God Bible Study through Lifeway.com.  I can listen to Beth’s lesson while sitting in bed wearing my fuzzy pink slippers any time of the night or day.  I can do the homework while at work or on my lunch break and they even have a message board to discuss the lessons with others.

Probably the same things that attracted me to blogging are what make an online Bible study Work For Me.  The connection with others through the internet, the convenience of not having time constraints, and honestly, getting to wear my pink fuzzy slippers is always a plus.

So…what Bible studies have you done – live or online – that you would recommend if a friend asked for some Bible study advice?

 

 

.

8 Responses to “WFMW ~ Online Bible Study”

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’ve just finished her Psalms of Ascent Bible study.

  2. Marlene said

    Thanks so much for your post. I have just started reading the Bible so I think I will try adding Beth Moore’s Bible Study.

    I love your WFMW last week because I absolutely agree that women need to choose the unscented versions because I am sensitive to the competing smells as well.

    Great blog and blog name 🙂

  3. Beverlydru said

    I really wanted to do this study. But since I work at the computer about 50 hours a week, then read and write blogs for fun, I decided a break from the computer is better for my lifestyle. Beth Moore is so real and I love her material. Thanks for sharing the idea.

  4. Carol said

    What a great resource! I’ve done Beth Moore studies online via Lifeway, but those weren’t free. Even so, they were totally worth the money spent. She’s just awesome.

    I always suggest doing Bible Studies in groups because of the insights we can obtain from each other during discussion times….And there’s the whole accountability thing – way too easy so slack off when you’re on your own.

    But if you’re self-disciplined (or, like me, always have more than one Bible Study going at a time), online studies rock!

  5. I have done alot of Beth Moore’s bible studies w/a mixed group of ladies from different churches & different ages & I like that. We all bring something different to the table.

  6. Leslie said

    I’m doing Beth’s online study, too. My favorite “revelation” so far is that our fears protect our idols. That puts a whole new spin on things and gave us a lot to think about!

    As far as other online studies go, I’m writing an online study on Psalm 23 at http://sundayschool.typepad.com/sunday_school/psalm_23_study/index.html. Doing an online study is fun because of the media available. I try to post a lesson at least every other week (Sundays). Feel free to join in!

  7. Kama said

    That’s a great idea. I used to participate in BM studies at my church. Whenever we would miss a session, the director would encourage us to find it at lifeway.com and catch up.

  8. I’ve done Believing God, a little bit in a group setting combined with computer lessons when I’ve had to miss. This study changed my life! I pray it does the same for you.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
