I Throw Like a Girl

I’m Facebooked

Posted by Carol on July 31, 2008

Whenever I get the chance to annoy my kids, I usually jump on it. When the opportunity to annoy also just happens to be a ton of fun, well, that’s a match made in heaven.

What have I done now to distress my teens you ask?

Facebook.

Because of the recent class reunion I attended, I now have my very own Facebook page. And my kids are perturbed. They are annoyed because they thought Facebook and the like was their domain – that anyone over 40 could not possibly understand or navigate the complexities of a social networking site. Or that anyone over 40 could have friends who actually know how to use a computer.

Not to worry, the nursing home where my friends reside offers computer classes.

My kids have reluctantly accepted the fact that their mom has invaded a part of their world. 

“Well, you can’t be friends with my friends on Facebook”  one of my darling children told me.  “It’s an agreement we all have. No parents as Facebook friends”.

Well, then, what am I to do with the “friend requests” I keep getting from those darn kids?  It would be rude not to accept them, wouldn’t it? 

I did think it would be a little creepy for me to request to be “friends” with my kids’ friends, but I didn’t tell them that.  But when one of their friends makes a request to be my “friend”, then all bets are off.  I’m accepting.  As a matter of fact, it’s already happened.

Facebook is such a blast.  While I am keeping an eye on things with my kids on the internet, I’m not as interested in what my kids’ friends are doing as I am with what my friends are doing, some of whom I haven’t seen in over 20 years.  Many of us are new to the whole Facebook phenomenon, but all of us are savoring the renewal of friendship and this high tech method of staying in touch. 

So there.

 

 

.

3 Responses to “I’m Facebooked”

  1. I TOTALLY DIG FACEBOOK. It’s an amazing way to keep up with those people who have sorta fallen out of your life. It’s like mini-blogging. Just recently I had three HS classmates contact me – what a blast.

    When my kids end up with their own Facebook page, I just plan to photoshop myself into OneHotMama and post as her. My kids will hate it. (Yes!)

  2. Heather said

    I love facebook and have gotten back in touch with some old friends through it. It is so addicting, tho, and I have to make myself get off of it from time to time. I did join a group called “Unlike 99.9 % of facebook users I was born in the 70s” … hahahaha ….

  3. Kim said

    Our daughter set the hubby up with his own Facebook account. I’m resisting my own page ’cause it’s too much fun to hijack his and do what I want with it 🙂 Besides, no way do I want to get tagged in photos FOR ALL THE WORLD TO SEE.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
