I Throw Like a Girl

Just Call Me Crazy

Posted by Carol on August 8, 2008

“You may be right, I may be crazy. But it just might be a lunatic you’re looking for.”  Billy Joel

After reading my Keepin’ It Real post, Bev commented that she hoped I was doing something nice for myself.

So I did.

I actually did two things.  I went and got a pedicure.  And then I did something that I’ve been meaning to do for a few weeks now and Bev gave me the push I needed to get off my booty and do it.

I joined Weight Watchers.  Again. 

To some people, that might not seem like doing a nice thing for myself.  A nice thing might include a hot fudge sundae or a piece of cheesecake (my personal fave).  But with everything else going on in my life right now, needing to lose a pound or ten (or multiples thereof) is just making me feel worse.  And my crazy logic tells me that Weight Watchers is something I can do for myself that I can actually have a direct influence on the outcome while feeling better and looking better as well.

And I think that is nice.

And to really keep myself honest, once a month I am going to post a picture of myself – for better or for worse, whether I lost weight or gained.  I will also post the amount gained or lost. 

I do draw the line at telling you how much I actually weigh right now.  When I get to goal, I will admit to the starting weight.  What I will tell you is that I am 5′ 4″ tall and I weighed 115 at my wedding.  I know, I’m not 21 anymore and I’ve had two kids, so I will be realistic about my goal weight.  I’m going to aim for 130.  Anything less than that will be, uhm, icing on the cake? 

 My "before" picture

No, I don’t normally run around wearing harnesses, but this will have to do as my before picture.  I tend to avoid the camera, so finding a picture is not as easy as one would think.

So, how has Weight Watchers worked for you?  Any helpful hints?

Cheers,

 

 

.

8 Responses to “Just Call Me Crazy”

  1. Kim said

    You go girl!
    I’m hoping to get back on track once we get moved and settled overseas (we leave next Friday). I quit gaining but I haven’t lost any either.
    Also 5′ 4″ and aiming for 130 🙂

  2. Good for you!!

    I probably need the swift kick in the rear you’re offering here. Hmmm.

    I haven’t worked out in three weeks. That’s my biggest problem. I haven’t tried weight watchers…but my MIL swears by it!

  3. Beverlydru said

    Why am I not surprised that we are on the same page?! I just blogged yesterday about being back on the weight watcher’s program. Now what remains to be seen is if I can do it without the meetings. Trying to save money, gas, time…. you know. This will help knowing you are doing it too!
    I am accountable! (And persistence surely pays…. right?)

  4. […] | Tags: Chocolate Cream Pie, recipes, Saturday Stirrings, Weight Watchers | Hey, just because I joined Weight Watchers this week doesn’t mean I’m ready to give up dessert, or chocolate, or pie.  I said I […]

  5. Mel said

    I just rejoined WW too!! I lost over 40 pounds over the past year and half, but took a break over the summer. I will be posting about it tomorrow and then trying to get back into the swing of things. I went grocery shopping tonight and loaded up on fruits, veggies, yogurt, cottage cheese, and Fiber one bars!! I’m looking forward to going back into losing mode. I have started a google groups with some other women who are battling the bulge and we would love to have you join us. We are all doing different things so it is neat to hear tips and have people hold you accountable. Email me if you want the invite in!! We’d love to have you. I can’t wait to try out your chocolate pie!! I used to do Five Point Friday’s on my blog and am hoping to do so again and this would be a great recipe to link up. YUMM!!

  6. Val said

    Good luck…..and btw….you look great already…..really!

    But it’s always nice to fit back into that wedding dress isn’t it.
    Good thing for me, I was 5 months pregnant, so not such a hard thing! ha!

    And a pedicure sounds so good about now!

  7. I have been very successful with weight watchers. From your description, our bodies must be similar…

    I’m 5’2′ and I weighed 118 when I got married. I lost 15 pounds last year and I am ready to lose the rest of the weight I gained after 2 kids, 10+ years of marriage and LOTS of not exercising.

    I’ll be cheering you on (and maybe working on a little weight watching of my own!

    Rachel Langston

  8. Alie said

    That is TOTALLY a gift for yourself!! I have been on WW for over 15 years now (and I’m just turning 30, so you can imagine the kind of chubby teenager I was). It’s the best program out there and all about teaching you how to take care of yourself. What could be better?

    I was, at my wedding, 135 (and I’m 5’4″). But EVERYONE’S body is different and I’m aiming to get back to 135. Still a ways to go and the 70 hour work weeks aren’t helping.

    But – I’ve subscribed to a bunch of WW blogs and I’m hoping that’ll keep me motivated.

    Good luck!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
