I Throw Like a Girl

Saturday Stirrings ~ Vodka Cream Pasta

Posted by Carol on August 16, 2008

I need to clarify a few things right away. 

First of all, this is a Rachael Ray recipe.  I love her recipes.  When I watch her cook something, I end up feeling like “I could make that” and a lot of the time, I can.  You can, too.  The original name Rachael gave this recipe is “You Won’t Be Single For Long Vodka Cream Pasta”.  I guess it works well for catching a man.  I don’t need a new man, thankyouverymuch, but the one I do have loves this recipe.

Secondly, this is not, I repeat NOT a Weight Watcher friendly recipe.  Yes, you can do a few things to lighten up the recipe, but even when I made the lighter substitutions, there were still too many more points than I want to consume at one meal while I’m trying to lose weight (but oh, so tempting).  I’ll let you know the point value, so you can decide for yourself.

Finally, don’t let the vodka scare you away.  The alcohol cooks off, but again, it’s a personal decision.  The original recipe calls for a bit more than I use. You can use less, but if you don’t use the vodka, I would change the name of the recipe, if I were you. Technically, it wouldn’t be Vodka Cream Pasta anymore and I don’t know if it would still work to catch a man. 

Vodka Cream Pasta

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tbsp butter

2 cloves garlic minced

2 shallots minced

1 cup vodka (I use 3/4 cup)

1 cup chicken stock (I use fat free)

1 can crushed tomatoes (32 oz)

coarse salt and pepper

16 oz pasta such as penne rigate (prepared according to package directions)

1/2 cup heavy cream (I use light cream)

20 leaves fresh basil, shredded or torn

Heat a large skillet over moderate heat.  Add oil, butter, garlic, and shallots.  Gently saute the shallots for 3-5 minutes.  Add vodka to the pan.  Reduce by half, this will take about 3 minutes.  Add chicken stock and tomatoes.  Bring sauce to a bubble and reduce heat to simmer.  Season with salt and pepper.

While the sauce simmers, cook pasta in boiling water until al dente.  When pasta is done, stir cream into the sauce.  Toss hot pasta with sauce and basil leaves. Serve with salad and crusty bread. (Serves 4)

Weight Watcher Points:  with the light cream and fat free chicken stock, it was 12 points per serving, it would be a lot more with heavy cream and regular stock.

To post your recipe, click on Mr. Linky below.  He will take you to a new page where you can post the link to your recipe and see the other links.  Please link directly to your recipe post not your home page.  And please be sure to link back to my blog so your readers can find new recipes to try.  If you don’t have a blog, feel free to post your recipe in the comments. 

 

 

Mangia!

One Response to “Saturday Stirrings ~ Vodka Cream Pasta”

  1. Diane said

    This recipe sounds devine. I must keep it. I’ll be dreaming about it until I can make it.
    YUMM-O!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
