I Throw Like a Girl

Believing God ~ Who Am I?

Posted by Carol on August 24, 2008

Believing GOD I know I’m a few days late with my Believing God post, but I just wasn’t ready on Thursday, or Friday, and maybe not Saturday, either.  I needed the lesson to marinate in my heart and mind a few more days before I was able to put some coherent thoughts together about it.  Being a little behind on the homework didn’t help either. 🙂 

This week’s lesson was on Believing You Are Who God Says You Are.  There were several “Aha!” moments for me, both while Beth was teaching and in the homework.  But first, here is the short list of who God says we are:

Through Jesus, we are Loved, Blessed, Chosen, Adopted, Accepted, Redeemed (free), and Forgiven!  Can I get an AMEN!?

Several things popped out at me in this lesson.  The first is the definition of the word blameless. That word always tripped me up because I thought it meant perfect.  I know I am not perfect and to be perfect is humanly impossible.  But what it actually means is to not be actively planning and premeditating sin.  To have no sin ruling over us.

Beth Moore explained that, yes, we will sin because we are sinners, but the difference is sinning on purpose with a chance to stop versus a sin that happens as a reaction to something.  I don’t know about you, but I have lost my temper and the words that came out of my mouth most definitely were a sin.  That would be a reactive sin, not premeditated.  There have been times when someone has asked me a question and before I knew it, I had lied about something when the truth would have been just as easy.  That was reactive, not premeditated.  Oh, I have had some premeditated ones, but I’m not spilling them here!

Along those same lines is the difference between the words transgressions and sins found in  Romans 4:7  “Blessed are they  whose transgressions are forgiven, whose sins are covered”. Again, transgressions means a rebellious sin, a willful deviation from the path of righteousness.  Sins simply means sin in general.  There is a difference and I am encouraged because He forgives both kinds of sin, and we do have a say over which kind we partake in.

The biggest “Aha!” moment for me came when Beth had us study Enoch.  He’s the guy who lived to be 365 years old and then God took him.  He just took Enoch to Heaven.  He never had to die.  Enoch is even listed in Hebrews 11 – the Faith Hall of Fame.  His credentials are not as long as Abraham’s or Noah’s.  They are short and sweet,  Enoch pleased God. 

That’s it.  That’s a lot.

He didn’t call fire from Heaven, build an ark, or father a nation.  He simply pleased God. 

And what did Enoch do to please God?  He walked with Him.  The simplicity of it bowls me over.  Maybe it’s my legalistic background, but so many times I feel like a hamster on a wheel running and running and wondering if I am doing enough, saying enough, praying enough, being enough to please God. 

What freedom in knowing that all God asks of us to please Him is to walk with Him!  Just walk.  Yes, walking with God implies fellowship and obedience, but I don’t need to be Billy Graham to please God.  I just need to be me.  That pleases God because He made me and loves me and wants a relationship with me. 

Wow.

St. Augustine once said, “Love God and do as you please.”  At first glance that might look like a ticket to live any old way, even in sin.  However, if we truly love God with all our hearts, then what pleases Him will please us.  We will walk with Him and therefore, please Him.

I know it’s Sunday and I’ve already posted a worship song, but I want to post Who Am I?  by Mercy Me because it fits in with this week’s lesson so well.

2 Responses to “Believing God ~ Who Am I?”

  1. Love it. I had never realized the simple beauty about Enoch, either.

  2. Diane said

    You hit the nail on the head for me,too. Enoch walked with God. He pleased God by walking with Him. Well, I can do that! And I LIKE to do that! Can it be that eay?
    Enjoyed this post. (probably because we both liked the Enoch story so much) 🙂

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
