I Throw Like a Girl

A Wise Fool?

Posted by Carol on August 26, 2008

For those of you out there struggling through 2 AM feedings, potty training, the terrible twos, the first day of kindergarten and all those other wonderful but sometimes grueling milestones that come with raising younger children, here’s a glimpse of what’s to come when those little ankle biters grow into teenagers.

First, just a little background – our 19 year old son just started his sophomore year of college at a local school so he is living at home this semester.  His freshman year was spent at a large university over 1000 miles away, so he has had 9 months of total freedom from his parents.  No curfews, no calling mom if he is running late, no one telling him to do his homework, clean his room, etc.  And he did a very good job. 

Having him home again has been great, but has required some adjustments on both sides. For example, yesterday he helped some of his friends move back to college about a half hour away.  The original plan was that he was going to spend the night at the college, so we were not expecting him home.  We had been in bed for several hours when we heard the garage open at 1:45 AM.  College Son came not too quietly up the stairs and into our room.

CS – “Just wanted to let you know that I came home. They don’t have air conditioning at the college and I couldn’t sleep.”

Us -“Gee, thanks for letting us know. Good night.”

Next thing we know it’s 3:30 AM and all the lights are on in our house.  I got out of bed to see who was still up and what was going on and discovered that not only was College Son nowhere to be found, but neither was our 16 year old Dear Daughter.

Thank goodness for cell phones because I called DD’s phone and she answered it like it was 3:30 in the afternoon.

Us – “Where are you and CS?”

DD – “We went out for a drive to talk.”

Us -“You couldn’t just stay home and talk?”

DD – “No, we wanted a change of scenery.”

Us – “Well, come home right now and the next time you want a change of scenery, wait until morning and ask us first.”

DD – “Ok, we’re almost home.  We’ll be there in one minute.”

And sure enough, we heard the garage door open for the second time in the middle of that night.

Wouldn’t common sense have told CS that he should have reversed things a bit?  That he should have NOT woken us up to tell us he was home when we weren’t expecting him to be, yet when he was taking his 16 year old sister OUT of the house at three in the morning, that might be something we’d be interested in knowing?

I looked up the word sophomore in dictionary.com.  It is derived from two Greek words.  The first one is sophos which means wise.  The second is moros which means stupid. 

If the shoe fits.

Tee Hee!

5 Responses to “A Wise Fool?”

  1. Beverlydru said

    At least you can blog about the craziness. Wonderful definition. I think I’ll email it to my friend the high school guidance counselor. Something tells me she would appreciate it as well. I have to admit I am sleeping better with my baby settled in away at college. No more getting up every night with her late-night ramblings.

  2. Dena said

    Thanks for sharing that and helping me to know I’m not the only one going through the craziness. We have twin girls in college – one in a dorm, one living at home. Sometimes I wish I could get inside their brains to see if I could understand what they are thinking or where they are coming from, and then there are times when I’m so glad I can’t. LOL

  3. Oh, that is such good stuff. This scenario could’ve been played out at my house! This is totally something they would do. Our boy moves back to school Thursday. I”m doin’ OK with it! Off topic: Tomorrow I’m posting about how to post a video for “I See What You’re Saying.” I hope you can join in the fun.

  4. Yeah, there is definitely the need for some adjustment. I never moved back home for long term, but the times that I was there, I had to respect mom’s rules. And that was all in the age before cell phones!

    Thanks for sharing! I got a good chuckle out of the definition of sophomore!

  5. lil ole me said

    Oh boy! Sounds like an interesting evening.
    That’s funny- who would have thought of a change of scenery?!

    Can’t wait for the teenage years. I guess I should enjoy my middle of the night feedings for now.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
