I Throw Like a Girl

Cure for a Cold

Posted by Carol on September 6, 2008

I may have mentioned a time or two that I work at a chiropractor’s office.  One of the benefits of working there is that I am privy to all kinds of cool information.  For example, I have a really bad cold right now (also known as the plague).  I actually left work early because I had a fever, plus I don’t think they appreciated me spreading my germs all over the place.  Before I left, one of the practitioners at the office gave me this recipe for a cold remedy.  I didn’t get to try it yet because I don’t have all the ingredients at home and Dear Hubby was not around to go to the store for me, but I do intend to try it.  If any of you have any home made cold remedies, I’d love to hear them. 

Cure for a Cold

  • 1/4 cup of rice
  • 6 cups of water
  • about 2 inches of fresh ginger root cut up into small pieces – this is very strong, you can use less if you don’t think you’ll be able to eat it all
  • half a bundle of green onions – only the greens, cut up small

Cook the rice and the cut up ginger root in the hot water for an hour.  The rice will be way beyond cooked.  Add the chopped green onions in the last 5 minutes.  Wrap in a blanket and drink the whole thing.  Stay wrapped up so you sweat profusely.  You should eat this at the first sign of a cold coming on and it should knock your cold right out. 

More more great helpful hints, check out Works for me Wednesday at Rocks in my Dryer.

 

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Cure for a Cold”

  1. if I had ginger root, I would making this today. I need natural cold rememdies since my little one is breastfeeding.

    Looks like TS Hanna passed thru during the night, so we’re all good. I’ll take a look outside to assess damage, but I think we fared pretty well with this one. Thanks for your prayers!

  2. Tara said

    I just realized that I forgot to give my recipe a title. My link goes to a recipe for crispy Hawaiian dumplings with Ginger-Chili sauce.

  3. If this works for you, please let me know. It could also help with allergies!

  4. Beverlydru said

    Let me know how the remedy goes… I’m all about natural remedies – ask my kids! They used be afraid to complain of a sniffle because I would get out my natural medicine cabinet. Of course, now they ask me to send them my stuff! Last weeks lasagna looks delicious. Hope you are feeling better.

  5. You can always try adding a couple of hot peppers to the soup mixture you will end up with, and a bit of garlic. I think you will find it tastes quite nice.

    It sounds very similar to a common breakfast food we eat in Thailand, kaaw dom, or boiled rice. While we were in training, a co-student from Malaysia made me something similar when I was under the weather.

    Adding the garlic and peppers will help to clear your head as well as adding health benefits and flavor too!

    Hope you are feeling better.

  6. wow! Good luck with this when you get to try it, I really hope it works. That’s cool to see in the comments that it works for allergies too!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
