I Throw Like a Girl

Excuses, Excuses

Posted by Carol on September 11, 2008

Now that I have recovered from the Plague of ’08, I should have no excuse for not writing witty, or at least mildly entertaining blog posts.  But actually, I am full of excuses. I could say my job is sucking the brain cells out my ears, or my kids are stressing the creativity right out of me, or my dog ate my laptop, and there is a grain of truth to each of these (yes my dog did try to eat my laptop, but I saved it). 

When I was in high school, one of our teachers would say that excuses are the skin of reason stuffed with a lie.  I don’t really know what that means, but it didn’t sound good to me, so I feel very guilty if I have an excuse for something that I did or didn’t do, whichever the case may be.

For example, about a month ago, I joined Weight Watchers.  I vowed to report back to you once a month, posting pictures and everything. And I got off to a rip roaring start losing a whopping 2.4 pounds my first week.  Then I discovered something about myself. 

I discovered that I am seriously addicted to Baked Ruffles. 

I was like a addict going through withdrawal.  And so I bought a bag thinking I could handle the temptation. It wasn’t the small bags they sell at delis either.  No, I bought a full-size multiple-serving bag.   And I ate it.  And Weight Watchers has been dead to me ever since. I know I could have counted the points -yada, yada yada, blah, blah, blah – but where’s the fun in that?

But, that’s not really a legit excuse for falling off the Weight Watchers wagon, I know.  Thursday is my weigh in day, and I will head back to the meeting with my proverbial tail between my legs and face the scale and start all over again. Yes, I will. I really intend to go tomorrow and I will just do it.

But this has got me thinking of other weight loss attempts I have made in the past.  I thought back two and a half years ago when I joined a local gym.  Within two weeks of joining, I sprained my right ankle on some gravel in a parking lot.  There went my fledgling habit of early morning gym attendance.  By the time my ankle healed, my membership card had long been lost in the laundry somewhere. 

Then that gym went out of business about a year after that (they probably missed me).  Another gym nearby offered us poor gymless members a really sweet deal over at their place.  Being the optimist that I am, I took the bait and joined the other gym, thinking this time I’m gonna do it.  And this is no skin of reason stuffed with a lie – within a few weeks of joining that gym, I fell off a bike and broke my wrist

I have come to the conclusion that either God does not want me hanging out in gyms or I am incredibly uncoordinated.  I prefer to see it as a spiritual issue.

All this to say is that my skin of reason is telling me that it would be a lie to try to post a one month Weight Watchers picture when I am exactly at the same weight I started at a month ago.  I will recommit tomorrow at my meeting and I do intend to incorporate some kind of exercise into my day (far, far away from all gyms) and will again update you all in a month.  It may serve no other purpose than to keep me humble.

Here’s to seeing less of me next month!

 

4 Responses to “Excuses, Excuses”

  1. Dena said

    If nothing else, may it help you to know you’re not alone in this battle. I have recommitted so many times that I should be a size 0 by now. All we can do is keep on keepin’ on, and pray that God will make all junk food taste like rotten, nasty fruit. LOL

  2. Beverlydru said

    Oh, the definition for excuses. Ouch. Funny how we remember things like that… I wonder if that teacher has a clue of the impact he has made.

    And I am so with you on the Weight Watcher’s deal. I have discovered that peanuts are my downfall. I love peanuts of all kinds. Almonds, dry roasted, boiled peanuts…. I like ’em all. And oh my goodness the fat grams. Green peanuts are in the vegetable stands here in N. Florida and my husband boiled 6 pounds. Not helping.

    I had lost 5 pounds in the month before the wedding. I gained 3 back in the last 2 weeks. So it goes. I’ll start again.

  3. Good Luck this month! I am just re-starting weight watchers as well!!

  4. You’re not alone, girlfriend.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
